Night on the train


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Chaiya
September 16th 2006
Published: September 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Ralph the RoachRalph the RoachRalph the Roach

here is our new friend!
So we decided to take the overnight train from Bangkok to Koh Samui… I think I’ll opt for flying next time! Just kidding, it really wasn’t that bad, but it definitely took some adjustment in my mind when we first got on there (as apparently are a lot of things during this trip! All the more fun though as I look back on everything and adjust to the Thailand ways…). I had never been on an overnight train before, so I guess I was kind of expecting the look and feel of Caltrain with some beds…haha - no. We were greeted in our room by some sort of beetle/cockroach thing - and then to find out there was no bathroom… just a lovely little hole you had to somehow stand over inside of a shaking moving train to go to the bathroom…. Leave it to say I wasn’t too thrilled. But all in all it worked out though, we took the Rozerem sleeping pills and passed out pretty quickly arriving in Surah Thani. Marcos said that we can fly back if I can’t take another train ride… but looking back it wasn’t TOO terrible… I’m a trouper, we’ll be taking it back to Bangkok…

Advertisement



Tot: 0.22s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1725s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb