My birthday!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Northern Thailand » Nan
January 24th 2008
Published: January 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hey everyone!

Sorry that a) i havn't written on here for ages and b) I havn't replied to many of your emails and messages, I have been SO busy these past few days packing and sorting out stuff for our holiday (we're off to Koh Samui tonight woohoo!) and the lesson planning etc has been getting on top of me a bit too! So anyway thought I'd fill you in on what we did for my birthday (although as the others were limited to Nan for my birthday surprises, they couldn't find anything amazingly original but it was still pretty cool :-) )

Ok well we went into Nan on Saturday evening, and my first surprise was that we were staying in Nan Fah hotel (we've stayed there b4) with hot water shower wahey - big treat in itself! And then we went to a new place for dinner with lots of veggie stuff and it was delicious :-). Then we decided to 'go out', as my birthday was on Sunday and theres nowhere to go out in Na Noi! So we found one bar, tand though at first we were the only ones in there it soon got busier and the band started playing and it was ok...then we headed to the hotel bar, although I could only have one drink as it was so expensive! ah well...

On my actual birthday, the others gave me some notebooks with the most hilarious 'Thai English' slogans on them - one is all about bread and I wish I had it here so I could write it up as Sarah and I are in hysterics every time we look at it! Then we headed out for lunch at De Darios (pizza...thai style, but still amazing after so much rice!!), and then we had to head off cos I had a 'surprise' at 1, which turned out to be a foot massage :-) (one of my frequent treats here, as they only cost like 3 quid and are really relaxing). Then we went to the coffee place (which does actual coffee! was sooo happy oh how I've been missing my lattes and mochas!) and we had to get the bus home, as it takes 2 hours.

In the evening, we went to Mam Lek's where we were given thai whisky and 'wine cooler' (tasted like blackcurrant cordial), sang karaoke and I had two cakes, one from Mam Lek and one from the others, which was cool as the thais don't really do desserts. The cake tasted like normal sponge, but they cover the whole thing in sweetened whipped cream not icing! interesting, especially when you put it in the fridge we've found - hard yet soft at the same time...hmm...

So that was my birthday! Wasn't a wild night out but then aparently Stewart and I are having a joint birthday party at the Half Moon party on Koh Phagn Nagn on the 30th so I can't really complain! Ooh and while I'm here thanks for all the lovely birthday messages - really made me smile :-) and I'll try to get round to some individual replies after the holiday sorry! oh and I'll update you on what the islands are like when I get back - one things for sure, its going to be completely different from Nan...only thing I'm not looking forward to is the 20hour journey to get there! (bus, plane, boat, taxi...) ah well

Nay xxxx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0421s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb