starting teaching, 'thai time', ladyboys and lizards!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Northern Thailand » Nan
November 14th 2007
Published: November 14th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Wow where do i start? The last few days seem to have lasted a lifetime!

Firstly, i think, a word about "Thai time': it's completely true what everyone says, they really are on a different time scale to the rest of us!! A few examples: on Monday we were supposed to be going to a temple for a festival at 1.30 so we were all ready and waiting. At 2.10, the director of the school came and told us the festival had finished so we weren't going any more! Last night, we were going for a dressfitting at a ladyboy's house (we've gotta parade up the street in Thai traditional dress (gotta get up at 3.30am 4 makeup!) with a load of ladyboy cheerleaders for the start of sports day 2moro!) and were told to be ready for 6, at 6.30 they came and told us we would be going at 7!

About ladyboys...its soo true! I only saw one ladyboy in Bangkok but there are LOADS here! We were talking to the head boy (so 18) at Na Noi school; i though he was a little camp, but didnt really think about it til he said "I am a ladyboy, would you like to see?" and showed us photos! Then the teacher came back and asked "oh, have you been talking to the ladyboy?" - they are really open about it! Anna and Sarah (theyr teaching at the secondary school, me and Jill are teaching Primary) said in the class they observed yesterday about 6 of the boys were putting on foundation, plucking their eyebrows etc in class!! craziness!

Just about getting used to our basic accommodation now, although there are ants and spiders everywhere and it needs a good clean; we have a cleaner but she just kinda sweeps around the dirt! we also have a resident lizard called Frank, and a ghecko who lives outside the house who we've called Graham. Frank really scared me the other night by running over the bathroom door just as I opened it, didnt half give me a fright! most of the time he seems happy enough going back and forth over the kitchen wall though!

As for teaching: it was my first day today (had yesterday off as had a rli bad cold and fever :-( went to thai doctor n everything! (actually he made me laugh cos he said to me "you are the most beautiful girl from England I have seen around here"...er how about the only one?! No westerners apart for GAPpers really come here!) anyway, today didnt go TOO well: 1st lesson kindergarten, I taught half an hour and then asked them to stand up for a game, but the Thai teachers don't understand English so she thought I was saying goodbye! so i was kinda forced to leave halfway early! Which was good, as I had nothing else planned, but I could have winged it. I was supposed to be teaching Prathom 4 (class 4) at the moment, but I turned up and she said she wanted me to only teach them 2 hours/week not 4 hours, so thats 2 hours off my timetable! I've only got girlguiding left today, no idea what I'm meant to be doing for that!!

More soon (we have comp access during frees; supposed to be lesson planning but there's only so much you can do!)

love you all, Nay xxx

PS I have a phone now but none of ur nos (theyr on old phone at home) If you'd like my no pls email, tho i can only afford the odd text every now and them i'm afraid!

Advertisement



14th November 2007

wow sounds like ur more than a whole world away!! sounds absolutl amazing! ur soo brave! hope that u shrink a little so that u can fit in ur mozzy net!! and cant wait 2 c more pics :D my mob number is 07731 794 655 all the gap yr ppl went out last nite -- and missed ur company loads! was weird u not being there! keep havin fun! love mols xxxxxxxooooxxxxxxx
15th November 2007

are there any pictures of frank and graham?! xoxoxox

Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0391s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb