Back home there are dead racoons on the side of the road...


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Mae Sot
June 18th 2011
Published: June 18th 2011
Edit Blog Post

we have officially arrived in Mae Sot.
It will be our second day sleeping in our house. I would post pictures, if I was more organized but unfortunately my camera died and I forgot my charger back In Canada. SO I will be looking for a charger tomorrow in the market, lets hope I find one.

When i first heard we were going to Thailand during the rainy season I thought it would be raining like 24 hours..but so far its been like one heavy rain and random light showers. So not that bad. Got to test out my big army coloured poncho today while biking around to the schools. NO big deal, but I looked like a ninja turtle.. haha

We bought some bikes today and then went around to our individual schools. The view here is incredible, well if you leave the town a little bit.
Mae Sot is a big city, but fairly compacted . Once you get to the main highway there is a beautiful view of some mountains, and miles and miles of trees and flowers.
I wish i could show you what the flowers look like...they are incredibly breath taking- with colours you have never seen before. I want to stop each time I pass by a flower because they are so different from those in Canada, but I wouldn't get anywhere.
On that note, the people here are just as beautiful. They smile when you smile, and wave and "sa -wha -di- Kha" you all the time.
It is refreshing to come from a country where people are too bitter, mindless or self absorbed to find the beauty in such simple things.
please, do me a favour and stop the next time you see a pretty flower, or just take a minute to enjoy the sun...I personally like to play with bouncy balls lol
RELLLLLLLAAAAAAXXXXXXX- life isn't suppose to be stressful

The title of my blog is : back home there are dead raccoons on the side of the road..
Do you know what they have here.. bet you can't guess..well you don't have to because I will tell you
its freakin lizards lol.
SQUASHED LIZARDS all over the place, at first it was kind of sad, but now that i think about it, it is way less dramatic than seeing a giant deer road kill.

I have also come to the conclusion that showering here is not only a waste of water, but it is also a waste of my time; for the following reasons: it is humid to the point that you are just as wet before you shower as you are during your shower; that it is impossible to fuly dry yourself off; and when you have finished showering, that refreshed feeling only lasts like 1 minute.

Bangkok was an interesting experience. It is very much like any other huge city- very busy, lots of traffic and weird smelling/looking street meat.

We went to this big market on our last day there and stayed pretty late in the night, had a couple drinks, met some reallllllly crazy people.
This one Thai girl, who was really drunk - her name was Aim- she gave us back massages and bought us beer. But she was really nice and gave us some good advice.
They sell any kind of drink in a bucket.. legit 3 times the size of a fishbowl for less than 9 dollars....they are very strong...

Anyway, i would really love to know what is happening in Canada, friends or family I love updates. even if i don't always respond, please send me emails, or comment or send msgs. Its important that I keep contact with you all in some way or another.
kmulawka09@hotmail.com

And if you want to be every more amazing I would love to receive mail, this is my address:

134/4 Intrakeree Road
Mae Sot, Tak 63111 Thailand

I love you all, please be safe and remember to enjoy life as best you can- so people don't have much of a choice, but where we come from- or atleast back in Canada- we have opportunity, we have rights, and we have the freedom to be who we want. take advantage of these

we are privledged.

kathy mula

Advertisement



Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0203s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb