Christmas in Mae Sot


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Mae Sot
December 25th 2008
Published: March 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

While I worked for the first half of Christmas week, Matt did his own self-guided tour of Mae Sot. He joined me on my morning walks for some great sunrise views of the paddy fields and Jac and I took him to our favourite restaurant Aiya.

On Christmas day I took Matt to Wat Phra That Doi Din Kiu temple because of its breathtaking views overlooking Burma. I thought this would be a quiet place to spend the afternoon, however I was proven wrong as we sat by hanging rock listening to some locals sing “Rudolph the red nose reindeer,” over a PA system and then say 1-2, 1-2 just to make sure it was working. Who would have thought that even in the middle of the forest you could hear a PA, at least we were reminded of the Christmas spirit.

We celebrated Christmas night at Khao Mao Khao Fang restaurant with Jac and her Dad who had just joined us from Australia. A Thai botanist had designed this open air restaurant and it as if you are dining in a forest, even the toilet is surrounded by a jungle. It was a great way to spend Christmas dinner, especially with Jac who had become like family. On Boxing Day, no shopping for me, it was packing up my room and bidding my home of 2 months in Mae Sot farewell. After a week of holidays in Krabi province I would be relocating to Mae Hong Son the first week of January 2009 with work.



Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



Tot: 0.179s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1352s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb