A view into Mae La camp


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Mae Sot
November 21st 2008
Published: December 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Mae La is located in Tha Song Yan District, about 8 km from the border and approximately 57 km away from Mae Sot, an hour by car. It is also known as ‘Beh klaw’ in Karen, which means ‘cotton field’. It is hard to believe that nestled in this foothill of mountainous landscape and cliff escarpment is a refugee camp. Mae La has a village like atmosphere with picturesque views. It is a bustle of activity with schools, a market, stalls and many tea/coffee shops. However, while it appears like a town, these people do not have the luxury of freedom we take for granted. They are confined to this village waiting in hope to return home.

There are approximately 150,000 refugees living in the 9 camps along the Thai-Burma border with Mae La being the biggest one. The camps were established in the 1970s and during 1984 their populations increased. Some people have lived in camps for 20 years while many have been born here. There are established structures and industries in place with regular interactions taking place with the Thai economy and across the border. The major players in the management of the camps are the Thai Government (oversees and makes decisions), the Thai-Burma Border Consortium (TBBC) who manages the camps and the Karen Refugee Committee (KRC) serving like a government for 7 of the camps

According to demographics taken by TBBC the feeding population of Mae La in August 2008 was 37,315. It is difficult to determine the exact population of refugees living in the camps, as many are unregistered and under current Thai government policies, possibly never will be. By ethnicity TBBC estimates that 97% are Karen, 2% are Burman and 1% Other. In the short walks I have taken around the camp, the Burman figure seems quite underestimated which means many of these families may be unregistered.

The persecution of the Karen and other ethnicities by the Burmese government continues and options of repatriation and local integration is questionable with many refugees choosing the option of resettlement. As of July 2008, 14,271 people have departed from Mae La since 2006 with a majority resettling in the US.

As you can see from the photos and as to be expected I have fallen in love with the children here, who are a bundle of energy and can greet in English very well. We hold in hope that the situation will improve for this future generation.



Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

A restaurant we had lunch at in the campA restaurant we had lunch at in the camp
A restaurant we had lunch at in the camp

This is supported/funded by an NGO who helps train refugees in operating a restaurant


25th September 2009

i am interesting in maela camp.thes why can u send me some imformation? waiting,akk
20th April 2010

My home town
Wow! I'm really miss that place.. the beautiful camp for me ever.. I used to grow up in Mae la camp I was there since I was two till 19 then I've got a chance to go to third country.. now I'm in Australia and I have already visited the camp in 2009.. all my friends are gone and i dont know anyone when I went back there, it's like a dream for me and it's like a minute and everything is changed... I've remember every moment that i spend my life in the rafugee camp.. I miss the camp alot it's the place where I grew up with friends, going to school, church sometime we went outside the camp for pinic, finding food such as bamboo shoots, muchrooms and some other vegetables.. by the time when I went back to the camp I visited my old school, house. my house is being sold to other people but everything still remain the same cuz the owner didn't fix it even if my house made up of bamboo, woods and leaves... I know all the place which are in the photos.. thanks for uploading the pictures.. and please upload more...
7th May 2010

hi
hi my name is ta ka paw

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0661s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb