At the Thai-Burma border: Mae Sot


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Mae Sot
November 3rd 2008
Published: November 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

On my first day of work (a week after arriving in Thailand) they drove me down to see the Thai-Burma border and the cheapest "ferry" in the world. As I was looking out for this "ferry" and they kept referring to it, I finally understood their joke. This so called "ferry"is the tyre featured in the picture. Up on the bridge is immigration but if you want to bypass that and go between the countries you can use the ferry instead. I don’t think you will require a visa on this ferry, nor need a valid passport!

The man featured with the musical instruments makes them himself and is a real character. I am sure he is a rocker from way back and he can play the instruments very well.

I am currently working in Mae Sot which is explained in my later blog.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Thai-Burma border bridgeThai-Burma border bridge
Thai-Burma border bridge

Man waiting to board the ferry


Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0826s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb