Markets, Marketing and 7-11


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Mae Sai
October 9th 2007
Published: October 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

We would meet @ 2PM in front of the 7-11 @ the border. It really amazes me how 7-11 has completely covered Thailand. There is also a KFC, McDonalds and Pizza Hut pretty much everywhere. I have an indellible memory of being in Chaing Mai and walking past a young Thai Lady in classical dress outside a restaurant. She was obviosly a restaurant employee and had a menu in her hands. Her greeting shocked and amused me.

"Wercum to Pizza Hut kaaa"

I still cant decide if capitalism is good for Thailand. Rather if I like it or now - good or bad is niether important nor of any concern of mine - it's happening! The welcoming attitude toward western culture has been in place here since the reign of RAMA V. This was the son of the King from "The King & I". The current King is RAMA IX and he was born in Massachusetts. So you see the connection runs deep.

It was about 7:30 AM when I set out on foot to the border. Today would be the first "real day" of my vacation. I planned to do the "tourist" stuff - I would walk into Burma, do some shopping, take some photos and eat and eat. After I planned to pu ton my "social activist" hat and head to Harbor House. The walk to the border was really a treat. The visuals were fantastic! Old, half croket huts nestled in the mountainside, Hill Tribe folks toting their wares by their heads, the familiar dogs lying in the street and Buddha images galore. Then I noticed the sounds. The morning clearing of the respiratory tract, Thai TV blasting from storefronts and loudspeakers placed throughout the town bellowing the local morning news. All this might seem annoying to you, but for me it was a welcome return home.

The timing of my arrival at the border perfectly coincided with the end of the news announcement and the beginning of the Thai National Anthem. Everything stopped for this. The police even stopped drivers who were oblivious to the music. This was 8AM rush hour in a busy border town on a Monday mornign and everyone was united in stopping their business for a few minutes to pat respect to their country and their King. Here was something contrary to the capitalist ideals and would certainly go by the wayside over time. Maximizing profits is the central focus, not unity and respect.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0372s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb