Northern Thailand


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Mae Hong Son
December 23rd 2006
Published: December 29th 2006
Edit Blog Post

My first Hilltribe visitMy first Hilltribe visitMy first Hilltribe visit

This photo is taken with some children from one of the White Karen hilltribe villages.
After getting my feet wet in Bangkok, it was time to head up North. I went to Chiang Mai for a couple of days where I took a day tour that left me riding an elephant, visiting hill tribes, walking through the jungle and bamboo rafting through a suspect looking river. It was a beautiful day and a great introduction to the north of Thailand.

I headed from there to Mae Hong Son (North west Thailand), where I was to be teaching English at a Burmese refugee school for one month. The school is actually, just outside the village of Nai Soi, approximately 30km from Mae Hong Son, and 7km from the dangerous Burma border. First sights of the school, left lasting impressions: bamboo/mudbrick huts, open air classrooms, bowl and basin "shower", mosquito nets, bamboo bed, mammoth spiders, geckos... It was like going through a time warp. It was rice and spinach for 3 meals a day. The landscape was breathtaking. The school is set in a valley bottom, amongst rice fields and banana plantations, with mountainous jungles stretching up all around.

The teaching didn't quite go as planned, as the students had sports tournaments and Christmas holidays, which
My lovely shower at Nai Soi SchoolMy lovely shower at Nai Soi SchoolMy lovely shower at Nai Soi School

Okay, keep in mind, I can't actually get in the big basin, as I need to keep this water somewhat clean. Its also used to flush the toilet! I stand on the floor and use the bowl to pour freezing cold water on me. Its like a spa!
I didn't find out until after I arrived, so my teaching was cut short. All is an experience though, and although it was difficult, I very much enjoyed that opportunity. While I wasn't teaching, I rented a scooter and did some day trips around the area to hotsprings, caves, hill tribe villages (including the long-neck Karon) and met some amazing fellow travellers: Clelia and Nabiha from France, and Mani from Germany. Surprisingly enough, I walked away from my scooter at the end of it all, having only suffered a fat lip!

With Christmas looming, I was concerned about how I would be spending it, and my family generously put me up in a nice hotel in Bangkok.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Long Neck Karen VillageLong Neck Karen Village
Long Neck Karen Village

An artisan woman from the Long Neck Karen village. I bought a scarf off of her for about $1.50. She said in one day she can only make 2 of them. Imagine earning only $3 in one day...
Mae Hong SonMae Hong Son
Mae Hong Son

I loved this little town.


30th December 2006

Long way from home
Shauna, I am impressed with you. I am glad to see you go through all these life experience. I missed seeing you over the holidays, but thought of you often. I hope that you have a good new years. Miss ya lots Christine

Tot: 0.242s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0665s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb