Jungle Jen


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Rai
July 5th 2009
Published: July 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post

CIMG4084CIMG4084CIMG4084

Starting the trek through the jungle!
Just got home from our 3 day trek through the jungle!! You'll just have to see the pictures to describe the trip, but it was none other than a difficult, hot, humid, wet.... exciting, fascinating, gorgeous, and an incredible time. It's this kind of travel.. visiting and seeing parts of the world that are nowhere near anything one would ever see near home... that are nearly unreal. Compared to some of the other trekking I've done, it was a fairly easy hike (of course, uphill is always difficult no matter how high or how long it is)... we stopped along the way to visit 4 different hill tribe villages where people live (literally) in the middle of no where! They fed us typical local food and we slept for two nights in the jungle (in a hut with mosquito netting around our bedding). On the third day we hopped on elephants in order to get back into civilization. The terrain was M-U-D-D-Y and difficult uphill/downhill. Now imagine doing that on the back of an elephant! It was really hard!! Ann (tour leader) and I were on the same elephant and laughing hysterically at how much we were flying around. We had
CIMG4087CIMG4087CIMG4087

Gorgeous scenery at every turn
to put our feet on it's back (sitting in a seat thing) and hold on for dear life to the handle bars of the seat. It's huge feet were sliding everywhere and I was quite certain that we were going down! And on top of that, we were about 12 feet off the ground! Anyway, it was awesome and I can't think of anything I'd rather be doing that experiencing elephant trekking. I was amazed at how well the handlers were able to communicate with the elephants. They are obviously smart animals. I enjoyed hearing all about them.. and feeding them!!!!



Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

CIMG4109CIMG4109
CIMG4109

Hill Tribe Woman
CIMG4132CIMG4132
CIMG4132

Passing the rice fields
CIMG4140CIMG4140
CIMG4140

Serious trekker! It was sooo hot!
Photo 19Photo 19
Photo 19

Crazy Richard!
Photo 21Photo 21
Photo 21

Remote Hill Tribe village in the jungle.. this is where we stayed overnight
Photo 20Photo 20
Photo 20

Passing through corn fields
Photo 1Photo 1
Photo 1

Ann and I stop to have a local cold beverage
Photo 2Photo 2
Photo 2

We slept on the floor of a hut with mosquito netting around each set of sleeping mats..
Photo 3Photo 3
Photo 3

We had to help make food at night: Spring Rolls!
Photo 5Photo 5
Photo 5

Spring rolls ready to eat!
CIMG4153CIMG4153
CIMG4153

Getting ready to hop on
CIMG4169CIMG4169
CIMG4169

Riding an elephant through the jungle was really hard!
CIMG4182CIMG4182
CIMG4182

Huh.. I'm not so sure about this
CIMG4183CIMG4183
CIMG4183

Maybe I'll try feeding this one
CIMG4184CIMG4184
CIMG4184

Got it!
CIMG4185CIMG4185
CIMG4185

Now I'll just feed all of them
CIMG4192CIMG4192
CIMG4192

Elephants love Jen~!
Photo 15Photo 15
Photo 15

Headed back to our hotel


6th July 2009

Wow!
Makes my Mayan Riviera drink in Cozumel seem really tame by comparison! You go, Girl!
6th July 2009

So glad to hear from you!!! Looks like you are having a great time, as usual. I always love seeing your pics. . . .keep em coming. When will you be back?
6th July 2009

OMG
Wow! Your trip is amazing! I am so jealous!
6th July 2009

You Rock!!
You are my hero! Stay safe!!!!
6th July 2009

wow
pretty speechless actually. Looks so beautiful there. Soooooo wish i had been able to tag along. I need a vacation of my own. :)
6th July 2009

Elephant Queen
Jen---What an experience. I know that feeding the elephants helped you to get the best ride---even slipping and sliding. The spring rolls and cold beverage looked soooo good. Enjoy. HH
6th July 2009

elephants
So--did your elephant have a name? Also, did he ever roar or make any noise? You are definitely the Elephant Queen. I can tell you are having a blast! Love, MOM
6th July 2009

This sounds like a trip of a lifetime! I think I am 30 years too old and 30 pounds too heavy for the hike and the elephant ride!
7th July 2009

Which tour group
Your trek sounds exactly like what I am looking for, not too touristy... Who did you arrange it with?
8th July 2009

Tour Group
I am traveling with a group called "GAP Adventures"...however, I am pretty sure it was the travel agency associated with the Golden Triangle Inn/Budget Rent-a-car. They are known to be one of the best!
8th July 2009

fun!
this looks like such a neat trip! you are so adventurous, I am jealous! :-) So I wanted to tell you, we just got home from Michigan, where we spent a few days in Traverse City, MI (very northern part). It is a big wine region and also famous for their cherry tree farms. We visited around 10-15 wineries and almost every one of them had a cherry wine or cherry port! So I tasted quite a few of those and thought about you, HA!
8th July 2009

riding the big boys!!
Whooo....looks hot and wonderful!! I rode a elephant on a mission trip I took 10 years ago. They are cool but scary because you are SO high up! Looks like you are having a trip of a lifetime. Enjoy every minute!!
10th July 2009

What fun!
were you expecting a car when you went through Budget Rent a Car and surprised when you got an elephant instead? Also, it looks like the local tribe lady in the photo with you was having a really good time. Maybe she or someone else put something special in her 'local' beverage. I hope you're planning on bringing a few of those fun hats back with you; they would certainly spice up our yoga/pilates classes, right? ...and Crazy Richard. He looks cute and fun. If you can't bring home the hats, bring him instead.

Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0739s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb