Songhkran


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
April 17th 2005
Published: May 30th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Sawadi Kaaaaaa!!

Hey hey, it's that time again!!

The past week, for those of you who didn't know, has been Songkran (well officially 3 days, unless you're in the Songkran capital) - the Thai new year. Thailand is now 2548 years old!!

I came from Kanchanaburi to get up here before the transport rush, accomodation price rise, etc. and bumped into Kate, who I'd met in Kanchanburi... which occupied a couple of evenings!!

I filled a few more days with a 3-day thai massage course! It was exhausting, all that learning, but any offers to be a practise body are welcome!! On Sunday, I was on the way back to my guest house, on the back of a bike (brother of the massage teacher), and the water festival was apparently beginning! Oscar (Hos) took me out for some more wet fun, and later Kate (whom I met on Koh Tao) too!! Kate and I had bought a couple of guns - which had been tested in the good old Roof Top Bar, the night before!

As Songkran drew nearer, the town became crazier and then it was soaking time - no one and nothing (including my camera) was safe!! For 3+ days this madness went on - people of all ages walked or rode in cars, trucks, scooters, tuk-tuks, all throwing and receiving water!! It was as if everyone was a child and almost everyone was smiling.... imagine it in London!! If we all did this, there would be so much less stress!! But I've learnt this generally about the way Thailand lives.

Oh well... so my time has been spent hanging out with Kate and other Koh Tao people along with girls Kate met on her trek as well as a guy we found drunk and lost one night!!

I bumped into him accidentally 3 times in one day and ended up joining the fight with him for a day... Gypsy is Austrian and learning to speak Thai!! He has invented a teapot that contains 2 types of tea at once and is working on his projects here - what better place! I found it very amusing, good luck with it boy!! And others, look out for it in the shops!

Sooo... Gypsy allowed me to tag along with his Thai friend and his friends to a club... where we were the only Farang!! Very strange but good fun! The next day, Tle (Thai friend) drove us to the sights of Chang Mai - a handicraft village and a temple at the top of a mountain (Doi Suthep)... which was almost as surreal as the massive water fight... then we ate half way down, next to a waterfall... which left me speechless and unable to learn any more Thai for the rest of the evening!

Yesterday, Gypsy and I hired a bike and found a reservoir (where once again we were the only Farang!!), where the Thais were finishing off their 5-day holiday by relaxing with family and friends. So we did the same, before heading to another Thai friend of Gypsy's, with similar business interests... I didn't know what to expect. We were welcomed into the most amazing traditional North Thailand-style house and given a tour by Un (Gypy's friend). Everywhere you looked were ceramic animal figures, all laughing and smiling!! I didn't realise I was in the company of an award winning potterist (?!)... until I was shown her article on the front page of the Bangkok Post! And photos of her shaking hands with the Princess of Thailand... shit!! Some other friends and previous teachers of Un came to share the delicious dinner- Un and her Mother are also famous for their cooking! Eeek! So we were taught some more about the Thai culture, first hand, before heading back.

Gypsy leaves Chang Mai and I, seemingly along with every other remaining traveller, have decided to head to Pai for a coupld of days before heading to Bangkok where I will await my Mother's arrival!! Madness!!! I'll let you know how that goes!! ;0) My intentions are to get to Koh Chang, visit James3's sister - Sally, and her friend Coral, then maybe fly to Laos, where I every other person tells me I can't miss! Then maybe back via Chang Mai (for the 3rd time) and the night train to bangkok where Mum can stock up on pressies etc before she returns to skummy Anglais!!

Bro - you got your b'day pres yet?!
Sophia - glad you liked yours!

Sally - Happy Birthday for tomorrow!! Sorry I'm slacking, it's hard planning ahead!

James3 honey, keep up the good work, you're doing wonderfully and I cannot wait to see you - 4 weeks & 5 days!

Mum - 5 days eek!! You scared?!! I'll call soon to discuss finalities... or u can try again!?

Rose, how's the bump?
Kat - how's the man? Obviously keeping u occupied!!

Sorry, I've been on here 3hrs now, must dash!!

Lots and lots of love - missing you all, but not the country!!

x x x x x x x Debz x x x x x x x

Advertisement



Tot: 0.035s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0172s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb