The Heart's Desires (Chiang Mai)


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
December 20th 2016
Published: December 20th 2016
Edit Blog Post

By the time I left AoNang I was so tan my reflection caught me off guard. Between the beaches of Sri Lanka and days spent sitting in a kayak in the bay of Railay Beach and Phra Nang, I've gotten a lot of sun. I feel so healthy and confident.

Now I'm up north is ChiangMai. My birthday was spent in transit and settling into my new dorm. The following week was filled with a yoga retreat on the basics of the Tantra philosophy. Unfortunately the retreat fell short on my expectations (though I had tried really hard to go in without expectations). I was really looking forward to some twice a day yoga, but instead I learned about what I value in myself as a teacher and in the practices I participate in (short story: anatomy, alignment and adequate preparation and cueing). I can credit the course with making me a sensory schmorgasborg though- I'm feeling, smelling, tasting, and seeing everything!

Orion arrived on 14-Dec and we have been redefining our boundaries and how to interact as to keep as smooth friendship and road ahead. We intend to stick together for he remainder of the trip (which is ending so soon!), but with added value on honouring personal space and time. It's quite a challenge to adjust to these things! He's been my best friend and roommate for nearly 4 years.

We celebrated my belated birthday with delicious vegan food and foot massages at the Sunday Night Market. Like Cusco, there's just so much good food here I could spend all day eating.

Since Orion had a few days on his own in ChiangMai while I was in the intensive, he's now ready to move along. Admittedly I could stay here for a LONG time, which was the intention when I planned 3.5 weeks here. The truth of it is that ChiangMai doesn't necessarily have a ton to do outside of shopping and tourist activities, but I love the liveability of the place. Not to mention, there are countless beautiful cafes and niche restaurants and cool spots to sit and drink coffee or eat authentic Thai food. I just want to sit in them all and read, write and watch the world. I'm feeling the pressure of the trip ending and needing to get back to the "real world" so every moment spent doing nothing is sacred. The challenge here is to learn how to live in this present moment even when life presents obligations and the mundane.

Even though I'm giving myself IOUs for tango class, salsa bars, karaoke, acro yoga in the park, cooking class, and miles and miles of aimless walking, it will be okay. I'll come back again...I know it. We will likely head to Pai and Chiang Rai for the holidays.

On another note, we realised that our budget isn't going so well. Between getting robbed and maybe a litttle too much shopping, we are looking at some more diligent bookkeeping for our final weeks.

I've been sick (something like bronchitis) for the past week. Despite a full series of amoxicillin, which I hate taking, I'm still coughing so violently at night that neither of us can sleep. Please send some love to my lungs and lymphnodes y'all.

Finally, I was sitting at Bodhi Tree Cafe 2 writing about all the things I want to manifest as a yoga teacher when the owner came over and totally out of the blue asked me to teach the classes at her studio/restaurant. In fact she asked me to teach for a year, which I sadly had to decline. I will however be subbing until I leave for Pai. 😊 the power of manifestation is so magical.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Mango sticky rice (vegan)Mango sticky rice (vegan)
Mango sticky rice (vegan)

Morning Glory Cafe


Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0529s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb