Leaving...


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
April 15th 2005
Published: April 30th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Crazy Dutchies!Crazy Dutchies!Crazy Dutchies!

This is the crew from my cooking course-good times!
In some ways I feel as though I have not done a whole lot here in Chaing Mai but it seems like I have been busy. I leave tonight to head down south to meet up with Sue and I am so excited. I am ready to have a travel partner...and to be honest I am tired of the water throwing here!

The "Songkran Festival" is the Thai's New Year's but the celebrations go from April 12-15th in Chaing Mai and it's crazy. Basically it becomes a big waterfight which starts in the morning and doesn't end until early evening. The waterfight has evolved over the years, initially people would sprinkle you with water as a sign of wishing you blessings for the new year, not throwing buckets of water on you.

To be honest, the festival was fun for the first day and a half but then I just got tired of always being wet and chased with water. And not only did being wet get anoying but having water that smelled horrible thrown in your face was nasty! I have no idea where some of the water came from and I don't want to know! My last
Yes...!Yes...!Yes...!

Yes, I actually cooked that and it was good!!
day here in Chaing Mai has been spent beside the hotel swimming pool (that I snuck into)...

Last night Matt, Shainne and I were going for dinner (at 9ish) and we had a bucket of water thrown on us. Needless to say I freaked and lost my temper...it was some tourists who threw the water so I let my mouth do some talking...so dinner was spent in wet clothes...lovely!!

I almost forgot to write about my Thai cooking course that I took the other day-it was awesome! We made 6 dishes and two desserts and it was all very good. I was with a group from Holland and they were quite the group so it was a lot of fun...the best part is we got cook books so I shall definetly be making some of these dishes when I get home...

Now it's on to beaches!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0384s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb