I want to be a pirate!!!!!!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
November 15th 2012
Published: November 19th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I have decided that if I ever get the chance to go on a pirate ship I'm taking it. Think old-giant-hunk-wood ships and not like modern - take somalia for example - pirates. I have been in a weird mood (okay- a hyper mood) for a couple days. I think it would be fun to sail on a ship for a while, not a care in the world until a storm hits.....Anyways I'm adding it to my bucket list.

Besides wanting to give up my landlubber ways to sail the seas in a giant ship I have been brainstorming ideas for my independent study project (ISP for short) and my senior year. My ISP in Thailand will be two weeks long and I can do pretty much anything. I have decided that I want to do a study on education. Will, one of our directors in CRC, use to teach at an international school in Chiangmai. I think I'm going to do my observations there. The school is actually a boarding school and most of the students are very rich.

I get the feeling that a lot of people in this program, or anyone in general, would lean towards the public schools of Chiangmai, but I think it is important to study the more affluent schools as well. Hope summed it up nicely the other day "Schools like that are producing the next leaders of the country." That's a pretty big statement to make but it holds a lot of truth. The next question is how do these students utilize their privilege? How does the school foster leadership or social responsibility? if it does at all!

I still have to write my proposal and the ISP start when we return from the Burmese border. That is going to be a heavy experience.

Happy Travels

Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0514s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb