Hello Chiang Mai!!!! :)


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
November 10th 2012
Published: November 11th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Hello Chiang Mai!

15 hours later and we arrived in the North of Thailand.
Within 5 minutes of being at the train station we had got our accommodation- which worked out at £2.50 each for a fan room with bathroom..so much for no accommodation!
I threw on my poly jersey on arriving at the hostel and was off for a run in the heat of the Chiang Mai sun! I would like to point out that this was the first time I’ve been allowed to run in a very long time and was looking forward to it! Chiang Mai is a lovely city on first impressions-very laid back and way more to my taste!

I got back to the hostel, showered and it was off to the tiger sanctuary. The tiger is my favourite animal and I was looking forward to this but was apprehensive because I didn’t know if they were mistreated and drugged in order to allow human interaction. This isn’t the case at all. They are encouraged to play with each other but discouraged from playing with humans (although they do try, especially the cubs)! When we were in with the biggest tigers, the two behind us nearest the gate started fighting and the one we were petting jumped up to join in. The young guide that was left with us started shouting, Gillian went 40 shades of white and I actually did feel my heart momentarily jump into my throat. They stopped thankfully and I managed to walk over and pet one! Adrenaline inducing activity! The young ones were amazing and so playful, although you aren’t meant to encourage them...it’s hard not to! I want a tiger more than ever now!

After that it was back to the hostel and time for dinner. We then headed to the night market which is massive and filled with loads of stalls selling everything you can think of. There are lots of Thai crafts and also a lot of brands-for a fraction of the price. I managed to get my favourite Chanel perfume for £8 after haggling it down from £12! At home the same size of bottle costs around £100! Clearly I love the night market! This was followed by an hours Thai massage for £2... I may never leave! Again the women who gave me the massage kept telling me ‘ah strong...strong’ the entire way through-a girl could get a complex! Tomorrow it’s off for a 2 day trek in the jungle. I heart Chiang Mai! J

On a side note- Gillian can’t haggle for s*%t!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



12th November 2012

xx
Showed this to mum last night... absolutely amazing :) x
12th November 2012

Dude! I can't believe you got that Close! Awesome pics though
12th November 2012

mac is that a real tiger and why are u lying on it hahaha
12th November 2012

Hahahahaha oh my I can just see you 2 freaking out at the prospect of being lunch for a tiger pack, I want one too, a shizhu (Chinese lion dog) is the closest we got!
12th November 2012

Hahahahaha oh my I can just see you 2 freaking out at the prospect of being lunch for a tiger pack, I want one too, a shizhu (Chinese lion dog) is the closest we got!

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0441s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb