Attack of the tiger cub


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
October 30th 2011
Published: October 30th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Woke up early morning to get some sight seeing done. Jumped in a truck and went up the mountain of Chiang Mai to a temple that has monks roaming around doing blessings. I was pulling my camera out when he decided to start the blessing, we both got soaked but I got a free white bracelet out of it so every cloud. After the temple we legged it over to Tiger Kindom which was brilliant. I decided going into a cage with the baby cubs & the massive parents (seperately) would be the best idea. I have to say, I was bricking it when I first got into the cage with the giant ones, these animals are so powerful and could turn any second so that didnt help when one of the thai's working there starting winding them up with half coconut shells on a stick, they were jumping to catch it! Its not the same as winding up your house cat, these tigers would have dwarfed Andre the giant!!
Once finished in the large tigers cage we went over to the cubs, which I thought would be a doddle. Imagine 1 hyperactive dog or cat, but then x that by 8 with big teeth. We were told not to run or pull away otherwise they will snap as they think you are playing. I hadnt noticed but two cubs were playing behind me and had managed to get so close they were touching distance. I felt something on my achillis and looked down to see a cub about to cuddle my leg and sink his teeth in, at which point I went to pull my leg away...bad idea. I got bitten haha, luckily didnt hurt but if that had been in the big boys cage, I wouldnt have had a leg!!
Today (30th) we are off to Laos on a slow boat which takes 3 days, only one of which we spend on the boat itself I think. Booked flights for 97 pound (n pound sign!!) so off to Hanoi on the 8th now with Vietnam airways. Will be partaking in some tubing from (u all must you tube this) the 4th-7th, very much looking forward to some of this action.
Havent mentioned food I am eating, basically chicken soups, pad thai all asian foods, no english. (apart from the 1 burger king burger which I was tricked into eating)

See u guys soon

Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0446s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb