I love Chiang Mai


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
July 22nd 2011
Published: July 22nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Diving on Koh Tao was awesome. Drinking on Koh Tao was awesome. Friends on Koh Tao were awesome. Cold showers, non-western toilet, hordes of mosquitos, and everything else..it was all awesome in its own way. So watching Koh Tao disappear into the distance as the night boat sped away was really pretty hard. But on to the next chapter....

Wait, forgot to talk about the Full Moon Party. Not much needs to be said...do a google search on it, watch a youtube video, whatever. It's exactly that. I don't remember enough to go into anymore detail...

Got into Chiang Mai Tuesday and met up with my friend, Dave. Had a nice little walk around the city checking out the local temples, snapping photos like a good tourist (sorry, internet here is still shit and can't upload anything). Went out and had quite a ridiculous night, which led to me being a bit too hung over to go on the jungle trek we had scheduled...so Dave went alone. When I finally woke up, I felt like shit for not making my trek so I went ahead and scheduled an afternoon ziplining tour through the jungle, which was pretty awesome. Rescheduled my actual jungle trek for the following day.

The trek was pretty awesome. First part was the elephant ride, where I actually sat on the neck and was the "driver". I thought I was going to fall off at any second...especially when the elephant decided to give my foot a tug with its trunk. Next was a 2 hour hike to the waterfall. I was feeling a bit under the weather for the hike due to some bad pork I had eaten the night before (apparently the sight of the elephants overshadowed my sickness earlier). After the hike, we got on to some good, old-fashioned, white water rafting! Not quite as intense as the rapids in West Virginia, but still an absolute blast, especially with the raft guide cracking jokes.

That night, we went out to the night market and stolled around and eventually ended up at the ladyboy cabaret show that we had heard was pretty good. Not gonna lie...it was awesome! It's not a strip show or anything like that...more like a Vegas showgirl thing, but with Thai ladyboys. You'd really have to see it to understand...I think I'm digging myself a hole here. The fat "mama" of the group asked for a kiss on the cheek when we were leaving...when I went in to give her a peck, she grabbed my face and planted one right on my lips. Awesome.

Today we rented a bike and rode up the mountain into the clouds to Doi Suthep, a temple on top of a mountain outside the city. The view from up there was amazing. At the top, we were basically inside a cloud. Took tons of pictuers of both the temple and some of the views overlooking the city on the way back down. After that we stopped at the Chang Mai hospital to take care of the nagging ear infection I've had. Not gonna lie, this hospital was much classier than anything back home. Unfortunately, it ran a bit long and we missed the afternoon train to Bangkok. So we went to the driving range...

Headed to Bangkok for a day then flying home! Sad to be leaving since theres still so much to do, but I'll definitely be glad to be back with my family and friends.




Advertisement



22nd July 2011

dude- the part about big mama was amazinggg. haha glad you are having fun

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0438s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb