THAILAND-LAMPHUN-10/0215


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
February 15th 2010
Published: February 15th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Photo 3Photo 3Photo 3

WAT PRA THAT HARIPUNCHAI-GOLD LEAF CHEDI
The more I venture into Thailand, the more I mingle and talk with its people, the more I realize their gentiliy...They are helpful and non judgemental...At least that is my impression...The trip so far from BKK to Chaing Mai has just been pleasurable...
Chiang Mai the second largest city in Thailand is located north of BKK in the northern region of Thailand. I have not yet explored the city. Today I hired a taxi/mini minibus to drive me to Lamphun a small city south of Chiang Mai. Thelem (sp?) the taxi driver was a delight...He was patient with me and made sure I see all that I had in my list which was mainly the Wat Pra That Haripunchai and Kukut temple. He even stopped in locations where he thought I would be interested...He did not speak Enbglish and i do not speak Thai, we both realized very quickly the advantages of proper sign language...The weather in Chiang Mai is warm and dry, so it made it easier to sit in a non air conditioned van all day long...
I read a great review of the Chedi resturant in a Thai airline magazine. I had Thelem drop me off there after Lamphun for an early dinner. The food a melange of continental, Thai, and Indian surpassed its stellar review...It was exquisite...From the Grilled chicken with the chilli tamaind sauce to the banana rout salad with ginger, cilantro, green chili, and lime...Yum Yum Yum...There I met an english/turkish couple who are frequent visitors to Chiang Mai and gave me great tips...We ended up taking a long stoll through the night market and both bought beautiful flower carved scented soaps...
After that it was a tuk tuk back to the hotel...
M


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

Photo 5Photo 5
Photo 5

WAT PRA THAT HARIPUNCHAI-CHEDI DATING BACK TO 8TH OR 9TH CENTURY
Photo 8Photo 8
Photo 8

KUKUT TEMPLE
Photo 17Photo 17
Photo 17

I ALWAYS LOVED STUDYING OUTSIDE UNDER A TREE-KUKUT TEMPLE IN LAMPHUN
Photo 13Photo 13
Photo 13

THELEM AND HIS RED VAN TAXI
(2)(2)
(2)

BOY AND ELEPHANT IN LAMPHUN
Photo 16Photo 16
Photo 16

YOUNG MONKS PARADING STATUE OF A BHUDDA IN THE STREETS OF LAMPHUN-LONG EARS LONG LIFE...
Photo 15Photo 15
Photo 15

CHIANG MAI NIGHT MARKET


Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0268s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb