I confess!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
November 7th 2009
Published: November 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Sleep deprivation is a form of torture used to extract information and confessions, right? Well in the past few weeks I have 'slept' at the Rainforest Lodge in Kota Kinabulu above a nightclub on a Saturday night as a live band kicked out the tunes until 2 am. Then I moved onto Sepilok where I stayed in the Jungle Resort and Labuk B&b, in dorms- need I say more?
The next 2 nights were on Uncle Tan's Jungle Safari, if anyone thinks that the Borneo jungle at night would be a quiet place they would be mistaken, creatures, probably those cheeky and intimidating Macaque monkeys running over the roof all night, branches or nuts, something that sounds like rocks dropping on the tin roof and a wet mattress. Everything feels wet all the time and that's because it is!!
After a boat trip, then 2 hrs with 6 people crammed into a 4wd, 2hrs in a stifling minivan and another 6hr bus trip back to KK to the Rainforest Lodge. Why you may ask go back to the same lodging on a Friday night with the nightclub downstairs? Now you can see how this sleep deprivation is working, too tired to look for anywhere else to stay my senses were beginning, yes this was just the beginning, to take leave of me.
One night there, then a flight to Kuching in Sarawak. Here I stayed at the Borneo B&b which had a nightclub next door!! For 4 nights in a row it was thumping techno music so loud I could feel the base through my bedroom walls.
Ahhh! next stop Gunung Mulu, surely a World Heritage Site in the Sarawak jungle would be peaceful and quiet-not so. For starters a dorm room with 9 other people reaching a unanimous consensus on when to turn the lights off would be rare, but that was not really the problem, it was the "waaark, waaark, waaark "of I think a very small frog (although I never saw the culprit) with a booming mating call. Four nights of that then flights from Mulu-MIri_onto KL with an overnighter in the airport. With possibly 1 hr of sleep in freezing A/C, attempting to lay along a 3 seater with cold metal armrests and a bunch of testosterone challenged Malay guys with ringtones of "naughty boy, I'm a naughty boy" piercing the morning air.
The flight from KL-Chiang
millipedemillipedemillipede

cute isn't she/he
Mai was in the words of the pilot "bumpy" in my words "sheer terror" then it was straight to the dentist to be shot up with a load of novacaine you can see where I'm heading can't you?
Staying at the Nat guesthouse in Chiang Mai the internet access computer was right outside my door. At 9pm it began with Bob Marley, god bless his soul but will this guy ever fall from grace on the travellers trail? Since the 70's his music has been played in S.E Asia, it's like I'm in a time warp! Then it moved onto Thai covers of Bob Marley all the while 'thwaak, thwaaak, thwaak of the keyboard and incessant coughing. By midnight the French had returned and thought it would be a good idea to stand outside my room to chat --Oi, Oi Oiing till the wee hours of the morning, only interrupted by the 'thwaaking' and coughing of tuberculosis man.
So by the time I return home in a few days time , ask me anything I'm ready to confess.



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Moss in the cave Moss in the cave
Moss in the cave

I think this was in Clearwater cave -Gunung Mulu
Penan manPenan man
Penan man

Penan man with his poisonous darts, who snuck up behind me at Gunung Mulu -yeeks!!!
cat at Watcat at Wat
cat at Wat

This one's for Ruby--love you
Waiting for a customerWaiting for a customer
Waiting for a customer

They still have rickshaws in Chiang Mai- amazing
Biscuit tins Biscuit tins
Biscuit tins

Tins of Biscuits in Chiang mai


Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0463s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb