Chiang Mai - Muay Thai, Trekking, and Relaxation


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
January 30th 2009
Published: January 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Jonnada GuesthouseJonnada GuesthouseJonnada Guesthouse

I actually have my own room and shower at this place! They are very friendly here.
What a breath of fresh air Chiang Mai has turned out to be. As soon as I stepped off the airplane, after a much easier flight (only 1.5 hrs), getting a cab and getting to my guesthouse was a lot less stressfull. As I checked in to my guesthouse who is owned by an Australian/Thai couple, I managed to bump into a dude named Michael from Germany who lives near Munich. After a little bit of conversation we realized that we shared 3 important common interests... traveling, Muay Thai boxing, and drinking beer! With that in mind we agreed to do these activities together and booked our Muay Thai Boxing lessons, our three day trek and went off to the Sunday market to browse the local goods and of course... drink some beer.

The next day was the test of manhood. Germany vs Canada in a bitter fight to the death in Muay Thai boxing... Well, not so much, but the experience was one of the best on the trip thus far. When we first pulled up to the place, the outdoor ring looked quite suspect. It was an old, tattered, duck taped mat, with frayed ropes, and a family
Bugs!Bugs!Bugs!

We stumbled upon this bug stand, so I was dared to try a cricket. You know I can't refuse a dare! It wasn't bad at all, just dry.
living attached to it. That said, it really added to the experience and it gave it a real rustic and authentic feel. There was some validity when I browsed around and saw many posters of top fighters who I assumed trained at the camp. Our instructor greeted us and immediately I saw a hopped up Thai version of Mr. Miyagi. He was friendly but after we donned our Muay Thai shorts, were told to do five laps around the block. We thought... "Easy enough" so we finished, came back and were told to do 15 minutes of skipping rope, then 15 minutes of tire jumps, then 80 calf raises each leg. For someone who has done little activity for much of the year, I was spent and had learned nothing of Muay Thai whatsoever. But then the fun began and we began learning knees, elbows, punches and shadow boxing. After we mastered the basics we put on the gloves and sparred with the instructor, which was really fun. I don't mean to brag, but I may be changing professions as Mr. Miyagi told me that with one month of solid training, I could start fighting competitively. He very well could
The RingThe RingThe Ring

This is where the blood was shed.
have just being friendly, but I felt as if I gave it a good go. After we finished much of our training, the members of the camp arrived and showed us some serious skills. I actually plan to go see one of the fighters tonight who is from France. All-in-all Muay Thai was really fun, and although I was sore the next day, the Thai massage following it really helped!

The next three days we were off on our jungle trekking adventure where we would stay with the Lahu hill tribe of the north, ride elephants, go water rafting, and bamboo rafting. We had a great group consisting of 6 people from Holland, an Irish couple, my German friend and I. We all got a long really well and it was cool to hear about the other's trips. After about a 3 hour drive we had lunch and began riding elephants for the first hour of the trip, whch was really neat! Then, we began our 4 hour trek, where we walked 7 kilometers and climbed 750 verticle meters. The scenery in the jungle was amazing and the landscape was quite challenging. It was a nice relief from the
Muay Thai ChampionsMuay Thai ChampionsMuay Thai Champions

Michael and I, ready to join the pro's.
hustle and bustle of the cities. Our guide was an interesting character named Moo Chiang (I think thats how you spell it). He was a small older man, who was friendly and had a really large mole on his chin with five 3 inch long hairs growing from it. At times it was difficult to concentrate on what he was saying. Despite this, he was excellent and we arrived at our first hill tribe villiage where they speak a different language. Moo Chiang taught us some words so we wouldn't insult them. I bought a cigar that was made in the village. I was hoping to get a little magic buzz from it, but no dice, it was pretty legit, haha. We stayed with a family who was very welcoming, ate an amazing Thai Curry dinner, drank many beers, played the guitar, and sang songs around a candle light. Although not entirely authentic, it was a great experience.
The next morning we added another member of our group, Bo Bo, who lived in the Lahu hill tribe villiage and was to be our second guide. He was 22 years old and very friendly and informative. We trekked another 8km to
Mr. MiyagiMr. MiyagiMr. Miyagi

You can't be a champion without a good coach!
our next stop where we managed to have some lunch and do some swimming in a scenic waterfall. We then continued to our next camp where we would stay the night in the jungle. After another amazing dinner, the guitar and beers came out again and we got to sample some local rice wine that is made by the Lahu tribe. Bo Bo drank way too much and ended up passing out early. His last request before he went to bed was that we finish the home brew, so one of the Dutchmen and I made sure not to dissapoint.
The last day saw a lot less walking (thank Buddha) and was filled with an hour of white water rafting and some calming bamboo rafting. Trekking was an amazing experience, it was nice getting exercise and getting close to a very different culture. As suggested before, the amount of tourists that visit these villages, does have its effect and it shows. But, it was amazing to converse with some locals, share drinks, have some laughs and enjoy good times.

Today I am going to take it easy as I checked out the Night Bazaar last night. Tonight I plan
Elephants!Elephants!Elephants!

This was a cool experience. One of them really resembled Blake Hurdle in the lower region. I'll have to wait until I get home to show you that one!
to meet up with the Irish couple from the trek and check out some more Muay Thai boxing. The next stop of my journey is Ko Samui, where it will be my first beach experience and a chance to do a little more resting and relaxing. I miss everyone, but am having a very fun time! Everything has went well so far and I appreciate all of the people who are keeping in touch! Take care until next time!

-J




Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Stopping for a drinkStopping for a drink
Stopping for a drink

The Elephants were drinking in the river. Behind us is one of the Dutch couples, they were great!
BambooBamboo
Bamboo

Moo Chiang makes us some cutlery from bamboo. They say in the villages, if there is no bamboo, there is no life.
TrekkingTrekking
Trekking

This was some of the terrain on our trek, this was the easy part.
TrekkingTrekking
Trekking

Some places got really thick. The sound of the jungle was most impressive.
ViewsViews
Views

One of the many views from different look points as we made our ascent.


30th January 2009

Chillin Chiang Mai!
Well you've certainly been around the jungle as they eh Jay?? Boxing, shopping, eating, partying, trekking, elephants, bazaar, massages.... I would sell my soul to be there right now! Love the pics, there can never be too many photos, but I know the internet is slow! haha great blog, keep on bamboozlin!
30th January 2009

WOW---Very Impressed!!!!
My dearest Jay Joseph, As you lay in your hostel at night, wishing you had remembered your ear plugs....wishing that soft elegant purrrrrrrrr of Mr. Bradford was there to put you to sleep....try not to think about home and work. I know how hard it must be for you...BUT just grit your teeth and get this fog ridden (haven't seen 10 feet in front of us for days),rainy,snowy(yes more) traffic conjested (people actually experienced "Patullo Bridge Rage"), soaked, mold ridden, slimey bliss of a place called "home" OUT OF YOUR HEAD!!!! and by the way...still haven't won a dam hockey game...SEND SUNDIN packing!!!! I know how tough it must be trekking through the jungle, riding elephants, boxing lessons and OMG drinking beer in the sunshine, BUT try and suffer through it. Now come on JJ, do you really think that guy was doing "yoga" beside your bed? Oh my.....too trusting as always!!! You look pretty dam cute in those red boxer shorts...nice legs ....must have got them from your mom.....hmmm...... maybe I'll have to check out Jerry's legs next time I see him!! You have missed your calling .....You really should be writing travel articles for magazines!! You have such a talent...you leave us with the feeling we are experiencing it with you...and wishing we were!!! What a wonderful adventure..makes me want to go book it...wonder how Pappa Kerr would handle the jungle.........hmmmmmm....he could experience those monkeys first hand!!! :) Enjoy every moment, stay safe and have fun!!! Can't wait 'til the next update!!! Big HUGS!!! Momma "K" xxxooo
30th January 2009

Jay's fitness
Jay this is your dodgeball team here; we're very happy you're going through this vigorous, arduous, and strenuous international training to prepare for the upcoming season. Don't get soft on us laying on those tantalizing tropical beaches!
30th January 2009

Wow, your blog is great! we love hearing your updates and adventures... sounds like the time has been action packed and lots of fun! Good to hear that you have met up with a few nice people that share some of your main common intrests!! you crack me up!!! Madison enjoyed your pictures but wanted you to know that she too was in a jungle... I personally have no idea when or where but that was one message... she was also curous... why you were buying bugs? lastly she said, I love Uncle Jay! and she loves your pictures!!! Anyhow, keep up the great notes! love you, be safe!!!
30th January 2009

Looks wicked
Hey Jay, Wanted to say I am extremely jealous! I have always wanted to do what you’re doing! Looks like our having a great time. I love reading your little descriptive comments..."who was friendly and had a really large mole on his chin with five 3 inch long hairs growing from it." haha.....take care and keep havin a good time
30th January 2009

Woohoo!
Hey Jay, sounds like you are having quite the trip, completely jealous! Be careful with those fights you don't want to get beaten up on your vacation save that until you get home and then we can box it out, lol! Be safe and remember to enjoy every minute of the trip because you never know when you will be back there! Relax, have fun and keep us posted with your great blogs! Love ya! Kel
1st February 2009

Amazing!
Jay, sounds like you're having a fantastic trip.....I'm envious. The blog and pictures are great. Stay safe, have fun and keep in touch!
3rd February 2009

Calling of the Wild
Hi Son, I new I should have went with you, as you obviously have needed my guidance. I could have made you into a millionare "rumble in the jungle" oops! Mom mentioned that has been done. Anyway, I am glad to hear you have made some awesome friends, and experienced some amazing stuff, just in this short time. I can understand how you and Michael have bonded as we have the same genetic link (Austrian - German) beeer. We all do appreciate this Blog as it is an interesting way of keeping in touch with you and your adventure, and we all love it. I do believe, as Moma Kerr has indicated you have a talent for documentary, and you could put this into something on film, which people would be interested in seeing. You were on elephant (fantastic). Grampa and Gramma Single used to go to see documentaries of trips in different countries and they loved it. As we are! Love you Jay

Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 7; qc: 46; dbt: 0.046s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb