Chiang Mai


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
November 12th 2008
Published: November 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Shopping for ingredientsShopping for ingredientsShopping for ingredients

Notice I'm carrying two baskets!
Yesterday we were up early (11th Nov) as we had a cookery course all day. We did it at Baan Thai cookery school and there should be some photos on the web page in the next couple of weeks - www.baanthaicookery.com (Dad - if you can save them for us that would be great!). I think the menus are in Thai and English on there too so Aled might like to download them and put them in his scrap book...

We both enjoyed the day which involved a trip to the local market to buy all the food stuffs and making a 6 course Thai meal and eating it!! I could've slept after the first 3 courses as I was stuffed - it was all really nice and I've been telling Pete we'll be making Thai green curry, fried bananas and sticky rice for everyone when we get back (thats if we can find the ingredients of course!!)

At the end of the day they got us to make floating latterns for that nights festivities - Pete started to feel a bit like he was in playschool and became the naughty boy in the class, defiantly leaning against the wall as he had no 'tools' to complete his creation. He also felt (I think) that the combination of carrying a little red riding hood style basket around the market, cooking all day and then flower aranging was just getting in touch with his feminine side a little too much!!

I helped him to finish and we produced 2 little "Krathong Sai" that we later set afloat on the Ping river with a little wish and prayer of thanks. It was a really lovely moment, particularly as we had made them ourselves rather than buying one of the hundres that were for sale. we were also told that if we set them afloat together that would ensure us being together in the next life (I think thats really sweet!!).

We had walked alongside the procession to the river - the procession itself is hard to describe - beautiful traditional costumes, dancing, music and hundreds of people (some walking, others on floats) - Like a really glamorous carnival and I'm not talking Dolgelau carnival here!! Lots of small markets and fairs scattered the city where hundreds of people were celebrating, watching talent competitions, beauty pageants and more...

On the bridges thousands of latterns were being sent into the night sky and Krathong Sai like ours were being set afloat. It was an amzing sight and a special memory. Somehow I dont think photos will do it justice...

On the way home we stopped in a bar and met a nice couple who told us about a really quiet beach in Cambodia that sounds idillic (we hope to make it there). Whilst chatting we were entertained by the bar staff who were setting off fireworks for over an hour. It was all a bit crazy with firecrackers and bangers being thrown into the road as well as rockets and light fountains being set off - cars and pedestrians were swerving all over the place!! (No health and safety police here.... Pete joined in setting off some bangers. I was brave enough to try a sparkler (for kids and babies I'm told but I know my limits!).




Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

The opening ceremonyThe opening ceremony
The opening ceremony

Traditional dress


15th November 2008

Lanterns
Dear Aunty ol. Will you show me how to make a lantern when you get home? We could let them go in the river by my house.
17th November 2008

Lanterns
That would be lovely Al - we'll have to go shopping and try to find all the right things though - we might have to change the materials a little bit as I'm not sure we'll find banana leaves that easily?
18th November 2008

Thanks
Hiya Aunty Ol and Uncle Pete. I got the postcards and elephant necklace today. Thankyou. Was the elephant from India or Thailand?
22nd November 2008

elephant
Hi Al The elephant was from Thailand - he comes from Bangkok. We saw a baby elephant there so I thought I would get you the necklace when i saw it. I'm glad you got the postcards too - they arrived quicker than I thought. We are in Laos now and I have some more postcards for you - but i havent sent them yet. I'm also keeping a little bit of money for you to see from each place we have stayed - I think you should have a good scrap book by the end of our trip. Love aunty ol x

Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0259s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb