Chaing Mai very nice


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
December 25th 2005
Published: December 25th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Christams Carols At Bangkok AirportChristams Carols At Bangkok AirportChristams Carols At Bangkok Airport

These Thai children were singing American Christmas carols in the departure area of Bangkok Airways. They were very good.
Chiang Mia has been quite a pleasant surprise so far.



First of all, my hotel room is the best I have had in Thailand so far. It is a 4 star for certain as my travel agent told me. Nice sofa in the room, choice of bathrobe colors, a comfortable king sized bed, and it includes a great outdoor breakfast buffet. There is a swimming pool that I will have to check out later today. Chiang Mai is a bit cooler since we are in the mountains, but not too bad. I bought a nice polartec type sweater for $5. I will also be looking for a pair of jeans since I will need some casual long pants for the evening.



The city is very nice. My hotel is near the old city wall with a nice moat around it. I jogged around the perimeter of the old city and it took me just over an hour. There are beautiful flowers planted around the perimeter also making the surroundings very nice. My hotel in in the university section of town. I saw 2 universities and 3 language schools on my walk yesterday afternoon within a
Chiang Mai Orchid hotel roomChiang Mai Orchid hotel roomChiang Mai Orchid hotel room

My hotel room at Chiang Mai.
mile or my hotel. Right next to my hotel is one of the most popular malls in Chiang Mai according to the Frommer's travel guide. There was a nice food court there where I have dinner last night. I tried sum tom (a spicy papaya salad) that Jum from last year told me about. It definitely was spicy! I had a banana shake to cool off my mouth afterwards.



Today I am going to see one of the famous wats (Buddhist temples). It is one the top of the tallest mountain peak so it should be interesting.



Last night at the mall they had two different bands performing, one indoors and the other out. They played mostly American 70-80's soft rock music which I haven't heard in years. The one band was near the food court where I ate dinner and they played mostly Carole King music.



That's it for now.



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0572s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb