Chiang Mai - Trekking, Hill tribes and bed bugs


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
August 26th 2008
Published: September 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Amazing Thai SceneryAmazing Thai SceneryAmazing Thai Scenery

And the start of the trek
So after the night train to Chiang Mai it was time to find accommodation. The creatively named 'Nice Place 2' would be home for 2 nights and was equipped with a swimming pool, hot showers (a lie) and bed bugs (not in the brochure).

Chiang Mai is very much smaller and chilled than Bankgkok, and the temples are a lot easier to find too. However, to prove that getting lost wasn't a one off I did miss the 2nd half of the LFC game when I went for a foot massage at h/t and couldn't find my way back (to the pub, not Anfield). In my (very weak) defence it was dark and I didn't have a map.

After 2 nights in Ch Mai it was time for a 3 day trek thro the jungle. My trek was to the Karen hill tribe and also included: an elephant ride, bamboo raft, me being the oldest in the group by 11 yrs and being woken up by cockerels at 4am.

This time transport was via a jeep which made catering for the oversubscribed party easier than the previous trip - the extra person could stand at the back and
WaterfallWaterfallWaterfall

On the way to the Jungle 7eleven
hang on. We took this in turns (I say 'we' altho I didn't actually do this) for the trip to the drop off point.

Prior to starting the trek we had a short elephant ride and after 10 mins or so and after overtaking about 3 elephants (this is really going some at elephant speed) it dawned on us that our 'driver' could well have money on the result. If this was the case and after he took the lead, he foolishly asked me to take over on what I was soon to discover were the tricky bits...This firstly consisted of a 45 degree descent down to the river (the F1 equivalent to a hair pin)...and when in the river, the elephant decided he was 'a bit hot' so started spraying water over himself (but mainly getting me in the process), which made steering - not to mention actually staying on - much harder. These set backs saw me lose ground and come in a satisfactory 3rd.

On the plus side I think that the elephant enjoyed my stint as he wasn't prodded and poked like when the guide was on his head, plus the guide would have
Hill Tribe MealHill Tribe MealHill Tribe Meal

The group at the end of Day 1
lost money. So all in all I would consider it a moral victory for the elephant and me (altho I didn't really have a say in it)

We then trekked to the Karen hill tribe via a waterfall and on arrival were had some beers, met some of the local people and learnt about their way of life.
That evening we were treated to a sing song from the local children. We were told to sing some songs back and luckily within the group we has a guitar player so we belted out 'Wonderwall' much to the bemusement of the (in some cases, scared) children.

More trekking on day 2 until we reached the jungle camp which had a great setting by a waterfall which was in fact our shower - how cool! Day 3 started with more trekking until we reached a 7eleven in the forest (see photo) and then after it was off to do some bamboo rafting.

The bamboo rafts were very much like gondaliers in the way that they were steered altho we got more wet (again I think the guides may have had money on the outcome) and there were some mini
Room with a ViewRoom with a ViewRoom with a View

View from our hill tribe hut
rapids to navigate round (or get stuck at for one raft).

Then it was back to Chiang Mai where I checked into a hotel with a hot shower!

Clips of this entry should be on youtube under 'GWK01 Chiang Mai'


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Sleeping arrangmentsSleeping arrangments
Sleeping arrangments

and no i didn't choose the duvet covers
The Jungle 7elevenThe Jungle 7eleven
The Jungle 7eleven

...and service with a smile..
Where We Stayed on Day 2Where We Stayed on Day 2
Where We Stayed on Day 2

The 'shower' was off to the left - see vid clip


2nd September 2008

Jealous
Oh my god - I cant even put into words how jealous I am. Ur trip looks amazing. I would sum it up by saying - I am Jealous.
5th September 2008

G, The lady on the 7/11 looks like your kind of woman (ha ha) Looks fab although the sleeping conditions wouldn't please the causer. it looks like you're having a fab time you lucky thing reckon i could swap places for a wk then i need my creature comforts Take care B
5th September 2008

Course i'm top of ffl!!!
Hi matey, hows it going? Thank god your blogs are better than your first youtube effort! Your trip so far looks cool, any luck with the hottie in the 7/11? Whats the opinion of the ginger race in thailand, is it as derided as much as back in blighty? Its much the same back at home, constant rain and liverpool no where near the title race, they should be on course to be out of it by Oct! Had a good leaving do on friday but missed the dragdowns! All the best from me and luce!
6th September 2008

Amazing scenery
I swear the first 2 pics look like scenes from RAMBO II ! Looks like you're having a great time mate. Any burgers in the 7Eleven??
8th September 2008

Group reply!
Cheers for the comments boys n girls - in answer to your questions....Tay - nah sadly no burger action altho they did do a mean 'plain rice wrapped in a leaf' if I remember correctly. Or you could have created your own crisp sandwich for a taste of back home! Reevesie - the hotty was taken (sadly) but I've got her Facebook details in case things change. On the ginger thing I was telling the hill tribe about the struggles of being a ginger in Glos during the 70s. There wasn't a dry eye in the tribe and they had a whip round for me - 2 chickens, a baby pig and 2 cabbages. I was touched but left them with them (plus couldn't carry them) Keep the comments coming.... G
8th September 2008

Beeettttaaaa
Gaylord, finally worked out how this bloody thing works. Just been checking out the photos and looks like you are having a top time. Particularly like the 'shitting yourself' look when that huge snake got a little frisky ! Keep the photos coming - I'm off back to my Fixed Income presentation... umm you win !?!?!?!
17th September 2008

Well, I reckon that amazing Thai landscape is second only to Yorkshire. Missing home yet mate? Somehow I doubt it! x

Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0289s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb