Change of Plan!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
June 27th 2008
Published: June 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hiya!

So, there's been a massive change to my plans in Thailand! I'm no longer in Sangklaburi and am actually in Chiang Mai with Dury!

Sangklaburi was nice and everything. The views are absolutely amazing! But living in Didi's house with the children was pretty hard work. And it wasn't what I had hoped it would be. I could make a million excuses about why I left Baan Unrak but probably the most honest is that I missed Dury loads and since he was still in Bangkok on Tuesday I took the easy option and left Sangklaburi on Wednesday. If I'm honest, I totally could have lasted at Baan Unrak and I would have liked to. If Dury had left for Chiang Mai on the day I left to Sangklaburi then I would still be there now, but because he was still in Bangkok and I was finding it hard in Sangklaburi I changed my plans! I still gave them my donation to ease my conscience slightly. Dury and I are planning to go back and stay in a guesthouse sometime because I want to show him just how beautiful it is there!

So anyway, I arrived back in Bangkok on Wednesday afternoon and Dury had already booked our tickets on the night train to Chiang Mai for that night. So we had a couple of hours to mooch about and then we got a tuk-tuk to the train station. The night train was awesome! The guy comes along and turns your seats into beds at about 9pm and then you can draw a little curtain across when you want to go to sleep! Dury had the top bunk and I had the bottom bunk. The train takes like 16 hours though so we were glad to get off when we finally got here!

We are staying at the nicest guesthouse ever in Chiang Mai! It's called Julies and is totally different from the guesthouses in Bangkok. Everything is different to Bangkok actually! It's more chilled out and easy going here! Our room is lush and there is a cool chill out garden with cushions and hammocks where you can just hang out and read or whatever.

Last night we went to the night bazaar which is a bit mad. We're going again in a little while to get some things for our trek tomorrow. We've booked to go on a two day trek in the jungle and we leave tomorrow morning. I'm going to get to ride on an elephant! Am very excited!

So, I guess I better go. Hope everyone is ok back at home and you're not too disappointed in me about quitting volunteering (mum and dad!)

Love you all lots
Naomi
xxxxx


Advertisement



Tot: 0.125s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0998s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb