My third visit to the hopsital - dengue fever


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
June 17th 2008
Published: June 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: dengue 24 secs
I have received a few emails lately from friends wondering if I was still alive. The answer is barely.

Last Monday night all of a sudden I started to feel like shite and by the time I woke up Tuesday morning I knew something wasn't right.
I had all the symptoms of malaria or dengue fever so I made my way over to the malaria clinic and they told me you can't get malaria in the city but you can sure get dengue. They didn't test for dengue so I made my way next door to Ram hospital to get tested for dengue. I met with an internist and he told me he thought I had dengue fever and later that afternoon blood tests confirmed his suspicions. I was lucky, I didn't have too sever of a case but it was sever enough for my likings. To think that a little mosquito could inflict so much pain.

It has been three days since my fever broke and I still feel very weak. Hopefully I won't end up with chronic fatigue syndrome as a result of having dengue. Today was the first time I could mustard up the strength to do anything other than lay in bed. Up until I got sick I had been working 12 hours a day 7 days a week on my "website" and now I can't be bothered with thinking about it.

I hope all is well where you are at and that you haven't been impacted by the weather (for those of you in the Midwest). I am not sure where I am going to go from here. The economy here is feeling the impacts of inflation and prices are going up. Now isn't a good time to go back to the states - jobless and homeless. I'll keep this short, I just wanted to let you know that I am not dead yet.

Advertisement



17th June 2008

Feed a fever, feed a cold
Hey Dave, good nutrition, rest and fluids along with pharmaceuticals should get you through. Your website is good- I can think of folks who would benefit like grad students of all kinds, including medicine. Reminds me of our conversation so many years ago on the river about "your money or your life". get better quick! annie
27th June 2008

Glad to hear you are o.k.
Have been in Italy for three weeks, in the Dolomites now, off another area today, will be in the Chi-town for the fourth than back to SLC. Hope you are feeling better each day. Mo
11th August 2008

I have only started to look at all your blog entries ..... amazing stories and pictures!! Take care and stay safe!

Tot: 0.136s; Tpl: 0.08s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0481s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb