First posting - LAX to Japan to Bangkok to Chiang Mai


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
June 2nd 2008
Published: June 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Uuuhh?!Uuuhh?!Uuuhh?!

Leah totally blown after meds and a stiff drink.....lush! Just kidding! ;-) Just hanging out at LAX having a couple of drinks and snack before our long 10 hour flight to Narita, Japan.
Sa wa dee krup (that's Hello in Thai)

So this is my first blog posting. It's pretty much Day 2 here at homebase at the YMCA in Chiang Mai, Thailand. We left Los Angeles on Friday, May 30 and arrived in Narita, Japan on Saturday, May 31. The flight took about 10 hours. Thanks to a couple of drinks at LAX and couple on the plane, plus a couple of delicious cookies made the ride very easy....slept most of the way, so it wasn't too bad. Japan was cool, at least from what we saw from the airport. A couple hours of layover and we were on our way for a 7 hour flight to Bangkok, Thailand. Now that plane ride totally sucked! Although we had our own personal tv in front of us, the seats were smaller, closer together (no leg room), and the recline angle sucked! The only cool thing about that plane ride was the tv that not only had music and movies we can chose from for free mind you, but it also had games that we could play. I played a few games of Bejeweled and Solitare. We finally arrived at Bangkok after two grueling
You Do Me While I Do Her?You Do Me While I Do Her?You Do Me While I Do Her?

Jeffrey taking a picture of Leah...totally buzzed off one white russian...haha, maybe not totally, but maybe just a little.
flights and 20 hours of travelling and found ourselves at the Novotel Hotel alongside the airport. All I have to say is WOW!! I had my own room that was just amazing! The bed was ridiculously huge....like a super king bed, but for short people....lol....it was funny. I more or less slept diagonal or sideways and yet still had so much room. The bathroom was gorgeous, so I took advantage of it and drew myself a bath....yes, a bath, haha. I hadn't taken a bath in shoot, how many years? but it was sooooo relaxing, especially after traveling and all the jet lag. It was about midnight when we arrived at the hotel. We had a good dinner at the restaurant in the lobby and pretty much had the entire first floor to ourselves. Jeff and Jon ended up sharing a room because Dayna (MHIRT Secretary) forgot to set Jeff up with a room. But I think it ended up working out best for them anyway, cuz they just split the cost of the room. Leah and I tried to share a room, but it was too late. The room was sooooo expensive, that's why Leah and I took advantage
Up, Up, and AwayUp, Up, and AwayUp, Up, and Away

The Pacific Coast line leaving LAX on our way to Narita, Japan on a 10 hour flight.
of the bathtub and all the amenities that were in our room (a nice soft plush robe and slippers and one of the most comfy beds i've been in). The next morning we got up, checked out, and just hung around the lobby while Dr. D finished up his buffet breakfast. The cost of the night definitely reflected the atmosphere and amenities in the room....it was $246.91....yeah, OUCH!! Oh well, didn't have much of a choice there now did we (thanks Mr. Travel Agent Guy!!). So yeah, we were on our way to the airport to head to CM finally. Only an hour flight to CM. The plane was cute (lol) very colorful airline (Royal Thai Airlines) with pink, purple, and orange seats. The food was delicious! It was only a quick snack, but it was soooo good. It was a small danish/pastry that had a slice of pineapple and a maraschino cherry--not too sweet, but just right--and this delicious 20% mixed fruit juice. When we landed in CM and got off the plane, the scenery was amazing!! Just to the left was Doi Suthep, the mountainous icon that holds a religious temple at the top where monks go for
Beauties!Beauties!Beauties!

The flight receptions at Narita, Japan airport.
retreats (and where we will be hiking to with the monks later on in this trip!!!! stoked!). Everything was just so green! Green, green, green everywhere! I'll continue with Day 1 in CM on my next posting!



Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

ToiletsToilets
Toilets

Sign in Japanese & English directing where the toilets are at.
Let's Chill!Let's Chill!
Let's Chill!

Sign in Japanese & English directing where the Airline Lounges are.
Time KillerTime Killer
Time Killer

Free movies, music, games, etc. on our own individual tv screens on the plane ride from Narita, Japan to Bangkok, Thailand on a 7 hour flight.
My Bangkok roomMy Bangkok room
My Bangkok room

Right when you walk in
Bangkok HotelBangkok Hotel
Bangkok Hotel

The plush bathroom
Bangkok HotelBangkok Hotel
Bangkok Hotel

Nice stand-in shower
Ahhh...comfy!Ahhh...comfy!
Ahhh...comfy!

The bath I drew for myself at the Bangkok hotel
OoolalaOoolala
Ooolala

The view from inside of the bathroom just above the bathtub looking into the bedroom
A little bed with that pillow?A little bed with that pillow?
A little bed with that pillow?

Humongous beyond Cal King bed. Funny thing, it was a little short on the legs, so spent most of the night diagonal or sideways....very very soft!
ComfinessComfiness
Comfiness

Another view of the bed
Office SpaceOffice Space
Office Space

My little desk and tv in Bangkok
Lite unpackingLite unpacking
Lite unpacking

Just getting stuff out of my luggage for the sleepover in Bangkok
Novotel Hotel LobbyNovotel Hotel Lobby
Novotel Hotel Lobby

Gorgeous lobby in the Novotel Hotel in Bangkok, Thailand
Reception DeskReception Desk
Reception Desk

Towering above the Check-in desk at Novotel Hotel
3/4 of the MHIRT Scholars3/4 of the MHIRT Scholars
3/4 of the MHIRT Scholars

The guys in the MHIRT 2008 program, getting ready to head out from Bangkok to Chiang Mai
Thai Airlines Snack AttackThai Airlines Snack Attack
Thai Airlines Snack Attack

Box cover of our delicious snack we received on our flight from Bangkok to Chiang Mai.
Deeeelicious!Deeeelicious!
Deeeelicious!

20% mixed fruit drink that came with our snack on the flight to Chiang Mai....deliciousness!
Yummy!Yummy!
Yummy!

This perfectly amount of sweetness came in our snack box on our flight to Chiang Mai. A danish with a slice of pineapple and a maraschino cherry.


2nd June 2008

Refreshing
Hi Jordan: It is so refreshing to hear the excitement of a young, new traveler. I have been around the entire world more than once, and sometimes I forget the newness of it all. No travel for me for a while. I start PA school on June 30! Anyway, Thailand is beautiful, and the people even more so. I hope to return there in 2010, after I succeed in a 20,000 foot ascent in the Anapurnas in Nepal .hen I'll write my book. BTW keep good journal notes...you may wish to write your own book someday! Please give Leah and Dr. D my affectionate regards...take good care of them both. Talk to you soon, Dave
3rd June 2008

Jordan<3
Aww Jordan, your trip sounds so amazing. I'm so jealous that you are in Thailand. I hope you took a lot of pictures of your room. I want to see how gorgeous it is :) How are you? What are you up to?
4th June 2008

So excited for you!
Hey Jordy!! I miss you guys so much already and it hasn't even been a week! Hey wanna go to the pub? haha jk! Your letter was so descriptive I felt like I was there with you! Did you at least sneak the robe with you?? haha anyway...I'm glad that you're having a great time already. It sounds like you have so much more ahead to keep you busy too. The trip with the monks sounds like an amazing experience...can't wait til you write about it!! Hey so just a lil about wedding planning...I think I found a venue!! Yay! You would LOVE it! It's at the Balboa Inn in Newport Beach. It's practically on the sand!! We're going to have to kinda cut the guest list but it's totally worth it!! Don't worry you'll still be invited!! =) Tonight Tyler and I and all our parents are going to taste the food and HOPEFULLY put a deposit down!! I also tried on some dresses and that was soooo much fun! But that's all for now! I hope everything else is going fabulous and I can't wait to hear more about your time there! Love and miss! ~Buttercup~
5th June 2008

Stay away from Chang!
Hey Jordan, Nice Blog. Puts Leah's to Shame!!! Sounds like you're having a great time. Stay away from the Chang. It's like Malt Liquor over hear. Nasty hangover. Stick with Singha and clean sheets. Also, check out the club "Round Ups" on Nimmenhamen (and there's even a burger joint next dor for you afterwards.) Later, Dr. Vince
10th June 2008

Hi!!!!
Jordan!!! yay i finally got onto your site! wow everything sounds so amazing over there. Im sure u all are having the time of your life :) i miss you both so much. Oh and i love the pics. It makes me wanna take a flight and go visit u both. From ur blogs it seems like you all have been super busy but still managed to find time for fun! well just wanted to say hi and tell you that i miss u two like crazy. o ya new york was awesome... i didnt want to come back! well talk to you soon. love u- p*nut
13th June 2008

Miss You
Hey love, I am so glad you are having fun! We miss u here so much and I can't wait to read more about your trip! Enjoy and I am very proud of you:) Love always

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0325s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb