Trekking Conlon style!!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
April 8th 2008
Published: April 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I cant quite remember where you last left me so I'm just going to fill you in on the last 4 days! We all had to get up early to drive north for 4 hour in an open top jeep to start our trek. This is quite an experience as two of the girls get travel sick so I made sure I sat nowhere near them and just took in the views! Our first stop was the waterfall which I can not even describe!it was beautiful!!A natural wonder! I want to put up piccies but internet speed is about that of gillan running aka slow!!haha so its not happening but really it was about 300m high( thats a guess but sounds good!) and soo powerful. We all got in and swam around! (my first time in water in thai soo i went wild and lost my flip flop and had a strop till the guy in my group Paul found it!!) Im going to detour slightly and just say this Intrepid trip has been great and I reccommend them to anyone although they are all about being at one with the culture and society so whilst all the other groups at the waterfall were bikiniing it up we had to cover up not to offend so looked like a right bunch of prudes! rant over. It was great. then the walk started though and bllllooooooody hell it was hard. I for some reason had the most slightly not getting the pack little talk and huffed and puffed up this near vertical mountain. I wasnt the slowest or most unfit by a long way ( a few of the girls really struggled) but i was not the figure of fitness I thought I was, and in the 40 degree heast really struggled!We walked for 3 hours before arriving at a tiny hill top village which was run by solar panel (may I add during this walk the heavens opened and every1 got drenched bar me who had a rainmack in her bag! mwah aha ha! Although I fell over about 8 times coz every1 else had walking boots and I had trainers-I will be complaing too Lacoste about their lack of grip!hehe) that night was eventful as we sleeped in a wooden shack on the floor with no mattress! also as the sun went down there was no light so we all went to bed about 8! up early next day for another gruelling walk 5 hours this time although another group did it in 2!hahahahah. the last part of it was really scary as we went down a steep hill on the edge of a huuuuuge drop and aftr my slipping incident i was sooo worried and our guide was miles ahead so i just froze had a major strop, refused to move but finally did and apologised to anna in my group later who had to talk me round!! hah. all worth it though as at the bottom of the stupid hill was our elephant! mine and annas was called minja...fantastic experience riding them. 2 of our group paul and jen both ahd cardiacs the whole time and were nearly crying i loved it and couldnt get enough!!photos to come will be shockers though as no1 told me i looked like i had a white afro. that night we stayed in another village which wasnt as nice. i could rant about the fact our beds had pooo in them but at the end of the day it wa sone night and i slept fine so who cares. next day we rafter back the whole way like something from pochontos! it was amazing and great way to see northenrn thailand and the animals!aka water buffalo. then it was the 5 hour drive back to chang mai. during that i was asleep when suddenly got drenched! they only start sokram earlier in the north so we had about 4 buckets of water launched into our jeep! was not amused little blighters! wheres your supersoaker when you want it!!! back in the hosterl we went out for our last dinner together and me anna and charlotte (who r 2 ealing girls travelling together on a gap year) had 1 bevvie to many and pushed the band off stage to blast out wonderwall to all the unassuming customers!woops!!hehe. They are lovely girls though and soooo sweet and we are staying together for the full moon for 5 nigths so going off on my own on wed and then meeting back up with them the next thurs sooo thats something to look forward to!!sorry this is sooo long but ive missed loads out. so much happens here. (oo i forgot to say at the bar last night i met a prize prick who tole me travelling in thai land alone was rubbish and i was in for the worst time ever!thanks!NOT. he wouldnt stop following me around. And when I said I was from Dover he went 'ooo gutted'! WHY WOULD YOU SAY THAT TO A STRANGER?! no wonder hes made no friends!! today is our last day in chang mai and we r getting the sleeper back to bangkok tomoz where ive got one last night with the group before they all head south on tour and i go off alone. I'll be sad to leave them as I havent actually had 1 min by myslef yet so its where the real test starts but im looking forward to hittin phi phi and a beach and then tao and learning to dive and then im back with the girls anyway so ill be fine!! LOVE TO ALLLLL miss you all and talk about you lots ( I think as Im travelling alon some of the group think Im making you up!!haha). Sorry this isnt vagually cultural! Ive lost my lonely planet!! love love love xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Advertisement



8th April 2008

Falling over in style
At least you fell over with a bit of style and culture - i.e lacoste trainers mass produced in thaiwan - getting in touch with the locals and all that. x ha ha sounds like you are having a great time. Found any thai boys yet?
9th April 2008

ooh gutted. why wouldn't you say that when someone is from dover? xxx

Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0378s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb