Renee Can Cook!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
February 3rd 2008
Published: February 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Day 11: Thai Cooking Class

I think my brother is the only one who will get the title (Yen can cook!). Today we headed to the Thai cooking school for the day and learned how to make some lovely Thai dishes. Rachel cooks all the time so was a pro at slicing and dicing the vegetables. Me on the other hand, needed some work. We started by taking a quick course on vegetable cutting. By that, I mean cutting vegetables to look like flowers and leaves. The flower I made out of a tomato turned out great however, I just couldn't seem to get the carrot leave. Rachel on the other hand did.

After that we started our day. We prepared 6 courses. I gave the chef a few laughs as he watched me prepare some meals....apparently he could tell I was a novice, haha. We watched a demonstration of them preparing each dish before we were set on our own in the outdoor kitchen to cook it ourselves. We then indulged in what we made as we finished it. All in all, our food came out pretty good.

We made: Soup, Spring Rolls, Duck with red curry (I left the red peppers out of mine!), Ginger chicken, Chicken wrapped in Pandana leaves, and mango sticky rice for dessert. I will post the pics as soon as I can!

In the evening, we went to the Sunday market and did yet more shopping. It was very similar to the Saturday market.

Tomorrow we are doing a tour that goes to Chang Rai, the Golden Triangle, and tribal villages.



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Springrolls...yum!Springrolls...yum!
Springrolls...yum!

Yes, believe it or not, I made these myself : )
Duck Curry and Chicken with GingerDuck Curry and Chicken with Ginger
Duck Curry and Chicken with Ginger

Umm, yes, I made these also


6th February 2008

lovely, does that mean we can expect some fabulous thai cusine to be gracing the counters at 8 shanley because that would just be stupendous!!! glad you're having such a great time!!
6th February 2008

Yan Can Cook!!!
HAAHHAH LOL! hilarious nay. but we can't be the only one's who used to watch that show!
7th February 2008

Don't know if you've seen this already but if not Yu might be interested in this website. www.thaifoodtonight.com It's got about 30 recipes each one with a cooking video to go along Good if you like to try cooking Thai food at home
8th February 2008

Great thanks!
8th February 2008

Sadly, I think we are! Haha, glad you enjoyed that one!
8th February 2008

Umm, of course : )

Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0227s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb