Heading up north


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
February 5th 2008
Published: February 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I've added some photos to my previous entry for those who want to see what Ko Phi Phi looks like.

Since my last entry, I spent a few more days on Ko Phi Phi. I went on a snorkelling trip in which I swam with sharks - reef sharks, which aren't dangerous, but they were all over. It was cool. Then we spent the night camped out on "The Beach" beach, where the movie was made. In the daytime it's crawling with tourists, but after sunset it was only us campers left there. Unfortunately I forgot to bring my camera that day, so the best photo I have of that beach is from a distance on one of my diving days.

I also checked out Muay Thai kickboxing. It was pretty boring for the most part. They start off with kids (maybe 10 years old) who fight it out in the ring, but being kids they aren't able to do much damage to each other. The last fight was pretty intense though, the ref even got inadvertantly thrown out of the ring once.





Some kids kickboxing





Some bigger kickboxers


After Ko Phi Phi, I travelled with an American named John who I'd met in Ko Phi Phi. We took a ferry to Phuket and made our way to Patong, where we stayed for one night. We had a night out in Patong, and by the way, Patong at night is insane. Basically there is a main strip where most of the bars are, and it's packed - with Thai prostitutes. There are almost no white girls - just white guys and Thai hookers. Whether they're bargirls, pole dancers, customers, or just walking the streets, if she's Thai, she wants your money. Sit down at a bar and they swarm you, grab your arm, sit in your lap, anything to get your attention. You can't get away. And in case you're wondering, no, I didn't pick up any prostitutes.





Main strip at Patong





Some random bar in Patong





Beach at Patong (super crowded)


After Patong, John and I went to Bangkok (yes, Bangkok again), where I obtained a Vietnam visa for my future journeys. Unfortunately the visa was going to take a few days to obtain, so we went to Kanchanaburi and visited the tiger temple there. It was crazy packed with tourists, but still pretty cool to pet the tigers. The next day we hiked in a nearby national park where and to a pretty cool set of waterfalls. The fish in the pools there will nibble at your feet if you stop moving while swimming. Doesn't hurt, but feels very strange.





Chilling with a tiger





Me and my tiger friend going for a walk





Tiger cubs





Waterfalls





More waterfalls





Fish that nibble at your feet





More waterfalls





More waterfalls





Monkeys!


We then went back to Bangkok where I picked up my Vietnam visa, and then went to Ayutthaya, where there are ancient ruins scattered throughout the town. Rented a bicycle and saw most of the ruins. Then I took the overnight train to Chaing Mai, on my way north to do the whole Laos/Vietnam/Cambodia loop, while John made his way back south to Bangkok. So now I'm in Chaing Mai and contemplating my next move.





Ruins in Ayutthaya





More ruins





Elephants on the road





Elephant butts (they were in my face, I had to get a pic... anyone else would have done the same)





Buddha statue

Advertisement



7th February 2008

love the pictures
cool pictures, fritz, especially the elephant butts and the tiger pictures. I can't wait for the next shots.
25th February 2008

Phone home
Fritz it has been three weeks since your last contact. I'm getting worried and can't sleep please phone, email or put up a travelblog. We need to know you are OK. Love Your Dad

Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.034s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb