Leaving Doi Suthep


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
December 27th 2007
Published: January 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Thursday December, 27th 2007

I’ve been at Doi Suthep since the 24th. This stay gave me an introduction to Vipassanah meditation. Practicing meditation a whole day is quite difficult for me. The first day was hard but the second day brought me some pleasure when I could concentrate for a few minutes. The rules of Doi Suthep are quite strict : no chatting between meditators, especially during the meals and the worst for me, 2 meals a days one at 6:30, one at 11:00.

So, as I get out to day, I’m very greedy and gulp down any junk food I see on the way. It’s just as I was overreacting to what I did the previous days.

I was glad to spend a simple Xmas time at that monastery far from the commercial nonsense that goes with Xmas in the West. I think that my stay was too short to really acquire meditation technique, but it’s already something. I don’t know how I would react to the 21 days course, either I would get use to it or I would explode before the end. Who knows ?

Advertisement



Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0455s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb