Elephant Nature Park - Day 2


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
December 28th 2007
Published: December 29th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hi Everyone,

Well today was all I expected and more. We were picked up at our hotel around 9am and taken about 1.5 hours out of town to the Elephant Nature Park. This is an elephant sanctuary for abused elephants that have been poorly treated in the logging or tourism industry, for the most part. These guys and gals have had such a rough time of things from tramatically having their eyes polked out to being beaten beyond belief, this place rescues these elephants and allows them to live out the rest of their lives in peace. We as tourists pay to go spend some up close time with these creatures in an enviornment that is unlike any other.

Upon arriving, we were given some ground rules, mostly common sense things. We then spent some time on a platform right up close to them as their breakfast of bananas, watermelon and pineapple was prepared for them. When the breakfast bell rang we were allowed to hand feed these amazing creatures. Sophia was smitten with a little baby and I liked his mom, go figure. Sophia fed him practically the entire basket of food and was very loyal to him. He was so cute. Of four babies, he is the only boy. I think he is about 4-years old and his little tusks are just coming in. We all were able to feed the elephants, including Audrey, who couldn't believe her little eyes. At one point, she was feeding the baby and I turned around to pose for a picture, when I turned back there was a trunk in her face and was about to get a kiss. Thankfully, Eddie got the shot. Gosh, we got so many shots, it's going to be hard to figure out what to show you in this blog.

After we fed the elephants, we got fed and buffet of wonderful Thai inspired food. I have never been a huge fan of curry, but Thailand is changing my view of things. They had the most amazing curry potatos and carrots, deep fried plantains, fried rice, about 6 noodle dishes, fresh fruit ( which just happened to be the same type of fruit we had just fed the elephants), and so much more. It was one of the best meals we have had here thus far.

After lunch, we just mingled for about 45
Feeing TimeFeeing TimeFeeing Time

This is Audrey feeding the mama elephant.
minutes and then we took a stroll into the sanctuary itself where the elephants were to give them a bath. OK, so I was so excited about this that in the bus ride to the sanctuary, I kept tearing up, I don't think anyone saw, shhh, don't tell!! So, we get to the rivers edge and we are handed buckets and brushes. Eddie hangs back with Audrey, but Sophia and I head in. The water was really cold and refreshing on the hot day, we make it over to the elephants and start scrubbing away. Sophia immediatly became the pro and began directing how I could best assist her, it was so funny. Elephants skin felt pretty much like I thought it would. Really rough, kind of like an orange that is shriveled up and too old to eat but still soft. The thing that took me by surprise was the hair. Oh, my gosh, they are hairy little buggers. The hair texture are 1 inch or so versions of grandpa's wiskers, thick and rough. The funniest thing happened. Imagine this, a group of us are sitting there washing away all happy and gleeful, pretty much all at once, we
Sophia and BabySophia and BabySophia and Baby

This is Sophia feeding her baby and giving it a little pat.
look down and floating amounst us where the largest elephants turds you have ever seen. Of course the elephant we chose was downstream from all the others. The group of us just laughed and kept washing, even Sophia to my amazement.

After they were done bathing they immediately went over to throw dirt on themselves. Elephants burn really easily and this is their form of sunblock. They had a great time throwing dirt everywhere. At one point, I turned around and a large elephant was gently wandering in our direction, so Sophia and I just moved to the side and on she passed. It was awe inspiring.

After they played in the dirt it was time for some kisses. OK, so this was hilarious. Sophia and I went over so Sophia could get a kiss, from one of the babies. I am looking forward, so I can try to finally take a good picture and wop, the baby planted one right on my cheek. Let's see an elephant kiss feels like if you took a vaccum hose and stuck it to your cheek, they suck and they suck hard. It totally took me by surprise and totally gave
BathtimeBathtimeBathtime

Sophia said she wanted to do this everyday.
me the heebie jeebies. So I am thinking I am good, it's over and it's Sophia's turn and NO, the baby gets me again in the eye, and then again and again and again. I wish I could have composed myself for a good picture, well at least one where I don't look totally beyond focus and creeped out. Finally, Sophia got her kiss and Eddie. It was great and it was one of my most favorite parts of the entire day, something I will cherise and never forget. Haaa, loved it. Elephant kisses. I can still feel the goose bumps.

Anyhoo, after that, we headed back up again to the building to relax and give Audy a bottle and shop at the gift shop. From there, we basically, just hung out for a couple hours watching the elephants, almost gotthe baby bitten by a freaky dog, watched an elephant documentary and spent time with our new aquaintences. At about 4:30pm we went down for another elephant bath and then headed home around 5:30pm.

Once we got back the girls crashed for about 15 minutes and we got them up and took the tuk tuk to the Night
Elephant Wrestling...Elephant Wrestling...Elephant Wrestling...

One of the best parts of bathtime was watching the babies wrestle. It was awesome!!
Market, where I picked up a few Christmas presents!!!! It was crazy busy with people everywhere. For dinner we had a really exotic dinner of McDonalds Cheeseburgers. I know, I just wanted to girls to bellie up so they would sleep well and frankly, sometimes you just need a crapy burger. The funny thing is, when we walked in the door, Eddie and I looked at each other and both said, "ahhh, the smell of home". Pretty pathetic.

Wept, that wraps up yesterday. We are off in about an hour to tour with Sergeant Kai again. I will fill you all in again tonight or tomorrow morning.

Love you all and miss you bunches!!!

Angela 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Right in the eyeRight in the eye
Right in the eye

She got me good.
So TiredSo Tired
So Tired

We wore them out, but good!! Job Done :)


29th December 2007

Hello
Hi, so glad to hear that your experience at the ENP was as amazing as mine... isnt it just the best! I cant wait we are going back in March and spending two days there! Reet xx

Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0298s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb