Ahh... Thailand


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
November 19th 2007
Published: November 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

This is my third time in Thailand each time coupled with nearby countries and I must say, I keep finding it my favorite. To be fair much of this has to do with my short comings more than other countries being bad. English is more widely understood here, I like the food best, the conditions are more first world, so the badgering to buy or taxi is kept to a dull roar instead of being followed and pulled on like Saigon.

I am shocked at how many whiteys there are in Chiang Mai right now. Walking the street near the old town/ tourist part, it is probably 2 whites per Thai.
Still the Thais remain hospitable and friendly.
I am in luck because there is a festival next week where they float candles down the river.

The good news is that my first night in town I worked out a dirt bike tour and not the crazy 6000 baht/ day thing you see advertised. I saw shop with a guy in a hammock and an XR250 and told him I wanted to rent a bike and was looking for a guide. It could certainly be done without a guide, but riding dirt solo is never a great idea because of the risk involved. Long story short it worked out and we leave tomorrow morning. It's not cheap exactly, but not expensive either. 700b for my bike, 1500b for the guide. I cover my expenses and he covers his. There is no group so I can say lets keep going or call it a day and change the pace as we go. I am looking forward to it.

I am slowing down now, and need to remember not to be too cheap. I told myself that last time here, but apparently didn't learn. What I mean is that $20 you can get a nice place with a pool, ac, and cable. For $6 you can get the back of a shop with no hot water, just a dip out of the shower, mildew, fan, possible bed bugs. But hey, at least it wasn't crowded.
After the dirt biking and I am going to splurge and spend my last week in luxury hotels, yup, going to a whole new class and spend $30.
It is amazing how quickly the odd becomes ordinary. Cyclos, tuk-tuks, a bike-kart with a huge ice blocks being pedaled down the middle of a major road.

I realized I overpaid for the guest house I booked at the airport. It was 600b. He wanted an extra 3 percent to use a credit card which is pretty standard here. I went to the ATM which gave a 1000b note. He only had a 500 note change so he said no problem and just like that the price was 500b, I wonder what it should have been. Nice nice place though, until 5am and you realize the neighboor has a rooster looking right into your window with something to say. COCKADOODLE DOOOOOOOOOO!!!!

Miss ya all, but wish you were here and not the other way around 😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.194s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 12; qc: 59; dbt: 0.0735s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb