I Heart Chiang Mai


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
August 14th 2007
Published: August 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Me riding an elephant.Me riding an elephant.Me riding an elephant.

I'm sitting on the neck. And that's Manu, my ultra-cool Columbian roomie in the background.
The sleeper train over the Chiang Mai took around 10 hours and was pretty darn ultra-cool, in both in looks and the fact that is was slightly over-airconditioned. I had been incredibly sleepy on the train and fell into bed as soon as they were put out at 10pm. Thus, I was a bit surprised when I was still a bit drowsy when I woke up a good night's sleep later.

That afternoon I took a class in Thai cooking. It was enormous fun, with our teacher a ladyboy, and someone from our group flirting with her. But more than that I forgot how much I enjoy cooking, especially things that only take a few minutes. We cooked 4 courses, and I managed to finish each one and despite one being ultra spicy, and the fact that I had what I suspect was a rash from the chilli on my thumb for a day, it was so fantastic just to eat something I'd cooked myself, and that tasted really good. My favourite perhaps was the sweetend cocunut cream and banana- two of my favourite staples together at last! The ladyboy sang Beyonce for us, I think that was something of
Just plodding along...Just plodding along...Just plodding along...

It takes very few words to say this: elephants are the coolest!
a highlight as well.

Anyway, the next day we got up bright and early once more to go visit the hill tribe people. Which wasn't anything spectacular in itself, as the whole village had became quite touristy, (though I do admit, the stalls there were still quite good, and some money parted ways with me that day). The way of getting there however (ignoring the long 'taxi' ride during which I felt incredibly nauseous) was truly fantastic- elephant riding. I couldn't help but be constantly reminded of the elephants marching in the Jungle Book, especially with the sounds of animals rustling in the bushes at the side of the path.

For most of it, I was just sitting on a sort of bench thing attached to the elephant's back, but then we got into the really jungly bit, and I got to ride on the elephant's neck. Like literally just sitting on an elephant as it walked along. And then the elephant guide, who was directing it with a system of Thai words and pushing or pulling certain parts of the skin decided to go wandering off. While I was still on the elephant. What a fun day.
Bamboo raftingBamboo raftingBamboo rafting

Just a couple of sticks woven together could hold 5 people. I'm building me one of those when I get home.


Then we went bamboo rafting down the river. It was incredibly relaxing if you ignore the fact that the men directing our boats kept splashing water on us. I think to make it more exciting. Perhaps in Thai exciting means something different, because I was just cold.

The next day, we travelled by longtail boat up to a hilltribe village for a homestay. As we got off the boat, there was the fattest python I have ever seen. It was seriously at least 50cm fat and God knows how long. Poor thing was stuck in a cage, taken out only for photos with tourists. Sad, but impressive at the same time.

I must say that unfortunately the tarmac roads and occassional concrete buildings at the 'hilltribe village' weren't totally unexpected, but it was nice to sleep on mats in a wooden house where a family actually lives. And the shower was a bucket and a tub full of water.

The next morning was an early rise, with a cold bucket shower, followed by a longtail boat and taxi ride to the Golden Triangle...


Advertisement



Tot: 0.178s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.1046s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb