Thai me up


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
October 8th 2004
Published: October 8th 2004
Edit Blog Post

I'm deleting the text from my old travel blogs here, but leaving the pictures for posterity. Or something.


Additional photos below
Photos: 2, Displayed: 2


Advertisement

View from my balconyView from my balcony
View from my balcony

Just before dusk, when the day is starting to cool down. If you look at the peak of the mountain slightly right of centre - not the tallest part, but the peak just below it, you can see three points that make up the roof of the temple. On a clear day I have a perfect view of it.
Wat Suan DokWat Suan Dok
Wat Suan Dok

This is in front of Wat Suan Dok - about an acre of small white chedis, which I'm not sure the significance of. I'll have to go sometime with a Thai person and ask. Can you see the monk standing on the wall between the chedis? The tree in front of him has been ordained as a monk in order to protect the monestary. The monks have also taken to ordaining old-growth trees to protect them from being cut down. Because no one here would dare cut down a monk. I doubt this tactic would work at home.


8th October 2004

HI
HOPE YOUR HAVING A GOOD TIME SEE YOU WHEN YOU GET BACK HOME. UNCLE DAVE

Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0396s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb