Out of the Big City


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
February 12th 2007
Published: February 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

We got out of Bangkok on an overnight bus - the trains were full (or so the travel agent said) - if it were India - I would have just gone to the train station and you can always pay a little extra and get on - but I'm not sure how things work here. Anyway the bus wasn't too bad - but definitelty didn't get a good night's sleep. We are in the north in Chaing Mai, which is a much nicer city - more relaxed and prettier too. We found a good cheap hotel where we each got our own rooms for 100 bhat each ($3), but the manager/owner said we couldn't stay unless we went on the guided trek(hike) that they offer (cause that's how they make their money). I don't want to go - but it seems she changed her mind and is letting us stay for now. The trek might be alright, but it is real touristy and they exploit animals and hill tribe people - the govt. makes these tribal people stay in one area so tourists can come look at them - sounds too much like a zoo for people to me. But the town is lovely - and I want to stay for a while and do some walking in the hills with out a guided tour. Today Andrea went witha group of people somewhere, and I stayed behind and walked around the town and visited some temples and hung out with some monks. I also found a great local Thai Vegetarian restaurant right near our hotel that's really cheap! My shopping and shipping continues - there was a great night market here last night. My times up, but I hope all is well with everyone - Laura

Advertisement



Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.031s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb