Phone Home "ET"


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
February 6th 2007
Published: February 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Early this morning, I got up and threw everything into my pack, left the guietness of the Tip Inn Guest House in Lam Pang and hopped into a 'taxi' which in reality, was a 1/4 ton truck with two benches and a roof. For 40baht, I was taken to the bus station where I bought a ticket to Chiang Mai for 67 Baht. One hour and fourty minutes later, and I was a the busy busy bus station in Chiang Mai. Another 'taxi' ride to a guest house, but the driver dropped me off at a hotel and took off! Of course the hotel ONLY had a room left that was the most expensive and deluxe. I said no thanks and walked away. The man at the desk then told me he had found a room for 1/2 price: 700 baht but IT DIDN'T HAVE ANY WINDOW! I smiled and said I did want to stay in a closet and left. Soon, I found a small guest house for much less and then proceeded to try and 'call home'.
In Lam Pang, I bought an international calling card for 300 baht or about $10 CD. In Lam Pang, I ended up going to the CAT office which is the equivalent to BC TEL office! to use the card. There were no pay phones that would take this card! The lady at the CAT office told me I could use it in Chiang Mai or Bangkok.
So this morning, I was confident I would be making the calls home to Canada. Alas! in Thailand, there are several phone companies and each have their own phone booths. The TOT is the Telephone Organization of Thailand and is owned privately. Another Authority of Thailand phone system takes yet another type of card. To call overseas, I needed a LENSO cardl I had purchased a CAT/THAI card! Ugh! I FINALLY found a phone that was the right colour and would take my card. It was out of order.
So ...... red phone booths are for local calls .... blue phones are for local and national calls .... and green phones take phone cards but NOT MY CARD! I bought a LENSO card which can only be used on YELLOW phones. Who told ET it was going to be easy to call home.
Another 300 baht, a new card, and I reached my number in Canada. It was supposed to cost 7 baht a minute but I think there is a glitch ... because in less than 15 minutes, I had used up 2/3 of the card. So folks! don't expect to hear my voice much until I am back in the land where ET is happy.
All that aside, there is lots to do and see here in Chiang Mai and I will be busy exploring for the next 6 days until I meet up with D. again.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0403s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb