I rode an elephant!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
July 3rd 2005
Published: July 3rd 2005
Edit Blog Post

Me on the elephantMe on the elephantMe on the elephant

This is when I first got on the elephant and I was still a bit terrified. I had to wear the hat and long shirt because of the bugs in the jungle. It was really hot!
Oh my gosh, one of my life-long dreams came true today. I got to ride an elephant for an hour! It was just the mahout (handler) and I in the jungle of Thailand. It was so peaceful, quiet and absolutely beautiful. This will be a day I never forget as long as I live. The mahout lives and works with the elephant for his whole life (both the elephants and mahouts). The mahouts live at the elephant camp and obviously forge very strong bonds with the animals. After my ride, which included going through a wonderful stream, I got to see the baby elephant nursery. They were so cute! I am going to post some pictures of my favorite one - she was being very naughty, which of course I enjoyed. I got to feed the Mama's some sugarcane and the babies some little bananas. I didn't even care when one blew her nose (trunk) on me. Actually I smell a lot like elephant as I sit here and write:-)

There were only two scary parts - getting on the darn thing and going downhill. The trail was very steep and the ride was very rough. Okay, I lied, there
Me ALONE on the elephantMe ALONE on the elephantMe ALONE on the elephant

Notice how I am the only one on this elephant! Yikes, who's driving this thing?
was a third scary part. My mahout got off the elephant and started walking ahead. I was like, "Hello? Where are you going and who is in control of this many ton beast?"

After the nursery, I got to go purchase some of the elephant paintings. They are surprisingly sophisticated. One, which was not for sale, was magnificient. On black paper, it had the shape of an elephant in metallic gold. Very talented artists, these baby elephants. Of course, I bought too many.

Then we were onto the local artisans handicraft village. I chose to visit the woodworking and silk parts. The woodcarving was beyong belief, but far out of my price range for most things. I got a few small trinkets. The silk though was another matter. I went a little crazy. I have no idea how I am going to get this stuff to Bangkok and then home!

Tomorrow I go about 3 hours up north (by the Burmese border) and visit some of the hilltribe people. I am going to visit a local school as well, which I am quite excited about.

Well, it is 4:30 and I am hungry and stinky, I
Thai Jungle and StreamThai Jungle and StreamThai Jungle and Stream

We rode through this stream for a while. Beautiful!
still want to post some pictures before my time runs out. Love to all!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Mr. SamMr. Sam
Mr. Sam

I enjoyed my day so much with Mr. Sam. He taught me so much. I am going with him again tomorrow to the hilltribe people.
Paintings done by elephantsPaintings done by elephants
Paintings done by elephants

Even after having seen it, it is hard to believe the baby elephants do these paintings.
Naught baby elephant 1Naught baby elephant 1
Naught baby elephant 1

Oh my gosh, this one had personality!
Naught baby elephant 2Naught baby elephant 2
Naught baby elephant 2

She tried it backwards this time
baby elephant trainingbaby elephant training
baby elephant training

This mahout will be with this baby elephant for life. Right now he spends him time bonding with her and getting her used to all sorts of situations. He also is teaching her basic commands. He doesn't really ride her, just climbs up for a few seconds.
Thai silk is different than ChineseThai silk is different than Chinese
Thai silk is different than Chinese

The silk process is the same, but in Thailand, there are two kind of cocoons - the yellow and the white. They can remove the yellow color if they desire by processing.


4th July 2005

Very cool
I have stumbled upon your journal and I must say I thought the elephant ride looked very cool. I'm going to Thailand next year and I hope I have as much fun as you sound like your having! Cheers
19th July 2005

I would want to ride an elephant in the jungle! The only time I have ode an Elephant was at a Carnival!!!!

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0488s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb