Yoga in Chiang Mai


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
January 14th 2007
Published: January 14th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Temples and DragonsTemples and DragonsTemples and Dragons

Wat Phra Sigh at the crack of dawn
OK, so what was all the Chiang Mai talk about? The first thing everyone asks when you say you're going to Thailand is "Were You in Chiang Mai". Well indeed, it's a cool place. It's like a giant Tollwood, the Munich alternative/hippie/now rather commercial festival. Everyone's really friendly and the place is full of markets, temples, juice stores, guest houses and thai massage places.

Now that was the old city, the part I am staying in. Outside the city walls there is the area around the famous Night Market where all the large hotels are and that is definitely louder and fuller and here are all the red-light bars, sadly sex-tourism is ever-present.

But back to my trip. I had built my Chiang Mai stay around a 2-day "Yoga for Women" workshop I had found in the internet (www.fourmermaids.com). It was a very inspiring course with loads of interesting woman and led by a young American girl. That was yesterday and today.

The day I arrived I bumbled down to the Night Markt, a very large area with a million little stands selling everthing a tourist could possible want such as hilltribe artisty stuff, clothes in all styles
Tourist Bus a la thailandaiseTourist Bus a la thailandaiseTourist Bus a la thailandaise

Thais love designing their vehicules, the taxis and the lorries are all very colourful too.
from fake Hugo Boss to yellow t-shirts with Marijana leaves on the front. Some of the stuff is really nice though and I am going there this evening too to maybe get a few souvenirs.

I was lucky to stay over the week-end as a big market takes place every Sat and Sun evening in the streets around my guest house where the country folks from around Chiang Mai (hilltribes) bring their products to sell. Fun stuff, I got a nice notebook and made a couple of nice photos. My guesthouse is in a side street so nice and quiet. It's called Golden Fern Guesthouse, nothing flashy, costs 10Euros a night but is nice and central. And I didn't want to stay in the big hotel towers outside the Old City area. I can definitely recommend it to any traveller-readers though! Staff is extremely friendly and helpful.

The temples here are beautiful. I got up at the crack of dawn this morning and went to the best-know one in Chiang-Mai, Wat Pra Singh (well-known for it's valuable Buddha image, I can't see much of a difference ;-)) It was lovely seeing it in the morning sun, later on
New Temple in Chiang MaiNew Temple in Chiang MaiNew Temple in Chiang Mai

As if all the ancient and beautiful temples weren't enough, they still build new ones..
in the day everything gets rather hazy.
Tomorrow I want to get up early again and go to another big temple, I read that in the morning the monks all go to collect their alms and that it is a special, inspiring moment.

And no blog entry without writing about the food, this is simply a culinary paradise. Yesterday I discovered a lovely little juice and health food store where I had a delicious thick vegetable soup, wheatgrass (the health thing, haven't seen it in Munich yet though) and a giant glass of fresh fruit juice with carrot, beetroot, ginger, celery and orange. The place is called Juice4U.. Yum! Today the yoga course gals and I had lunch at a little Thai joint, I can't remember the name but it was a dream.. Yellow Pumpkin Curry with red rice and stir-fried Morning Glory (had never heard of that before, it's the staple green vegetable here, delicious!) Oh and I tried the famous sticky rice with Mango Wiebke, lovely!!!! I'll be coming back with a few kilos more on my hips that's for sure!
I have found a 1-day Cooking Course at an organic farm outside of Chiang Mai, I
A Street in Chiang MaiA Street in Chiang MaiA Street in Chiang Mai

Nothing exciting, just to give you an idea..
will be doing that on Tuesday...

Sadly I am having problems at this PC downloading my latest photos.. I will have another try tomorrow.

I hope you are all well at home, Bye for now!





Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Flip Flop Market GirlFlip Flop Market Girl
Flip Flop Market Girl

Friendly people and fun stuff at the week-end night market just behind my guest house.
Flower Guirlande at MarketFlower Guirlande at Market
Flower Guirlande at Market

Friendly people and fun stuff at the week-end night market just behind my guest house.
Juice 4UJuice 4U
Juice 4U

Fabulous little juice shop which sells delicious (and biiig!) glasses of fresh juices including the healthy wheatgrass shots.


16th January 2007

Hello Christina! how are you? When reading your blog and looking at the photo's, I feel like I need to start planning my vacation asap ;-) How are the wheater conditions over there? Enjoy!

Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0366s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb