On the Road Again


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
January 13th 2019
Published: January 20th 2019
Edit Blog Post

Jan 13th,

The hotel’s breakfast was great because it didn’t consist of rice. We ate dippy eggs, coffee, fruit, and cereal. Then we zipped off to temple after temple after temple. First was the Blue Temple. It was pretty blue. Then we went to the biggest Buddha statue in the world that was next to another temple. We ended the temple triathlon at the White Temple. It was very white, and I have to admit, it was one of the most beautiful man-made things I have ever seen.

In Thailand, it is respectful to cover your shoulders and wear pants or a long skirt into the temples. I thought I was playing it safe with a t-shirt and a maxi-skirt, but apparently the slit on my skirt (thanks mom) was too revealing. The employees tied my slit together with rubber bands before I was allowed to enter the temple.

This evening, after we got back from Chiang Rai, we all got together for a Bible study. It was great to refocus our minds and hearts and remind ourselves who to credit for our safety and blessings so far in this trip. Additionally, it was nice to remind ourselves of our purpose here on earth and how we can help bring that to fruition while here in Thailand. A lot of us have been struggling to watch masses of people bowing and worshipping idols. When my Thai buddies talk about their faith, they say things like, “sorry for being late, we had to worship Buddha.” They HAD to. This puts into perspective how cultural their faith is. It runs deep into every aspect of their culture and their family here in Thailand. It is something that is done (for many) because that’s just the way it goes. They do it because they “have” to in order to adhere to their culture and in hopes to return in the next life with more blessings. Quite differently, I look at Christianity as something I getto do. I feel so blessed that the Lord has chosen me and loves me, in order than I can now love Him and live for Him. There is a lot more that can be said, but basically, a lot of us are struggling to see so many people living without the joy of the Lord. I’m afraid many of them have never heard the Gospel, and it's weighing heavily on me that I cannot tell them because I do not speak their language.

On the other hand, something I have noticed is how wonderful the Thai people have been at loving us and serving us. They treat us with more respect and selfless-servanthood than most Christians I have met. It’s astonishing to be around such kind people who are so thoughtful and love so well.

Ps—My last five showers have been freezing cold.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.131s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0785s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb