January 26th: Flight back to USA


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
January 26th 2018
Published: January 28th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Although I do not like flying, it was nice to have a solid 21 hours to think and process all that has happened on this trip to Thailand. It was such an amazing trip filled with so many great memories and so many great relationships formed. It definitely exceeded my expectations. After reflecting back on the trip, I can see how much I have learned including things that fulfilled the objectives I set up for myself. I experienced the many differences between American and Thai health care and health practices including the community oriented nature of health care, the multifaceted and more involved role of the nurse, and the teamwork focus of the nursing care. I also noticed a lot of religious differences which I have discussed in earlier blogs. I was so exhausted physically and emotionally on the first flight that I fell asleep pretty much right away and slept the whole time without using my in-flight entertainment at all! The South Korean airport was very nice as you could tell they were preparing for the Olympics. We stopped in at one of the traditional shops which had difference cultural activities such as a scratch off craft and a dress up station. The second flight I couldn’t really get comfortable enough to sleep very long so I slept on and off and watched 3 movies which were all really good! I missed one of the meals, but caught the second one which wasn’t too bad. I was glad I brought some snacks to hold me over. ? Getting off the plane was bitter sweet as I realized we were in America and not in Thailand anymore. I was excited to get home and see my family, but I felt like half my heart was still left in Thailand. I’m looking forward to the next time I get to see the beautiful country of Thailand again. Not goodbye, just see you later.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0662s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb