Wednesday Jan. 24


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
January 25th 2018
Published: January 25th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Wednesday



I bought more shoes today. That makes 3 pairs, so one for each week I guess. Another wise thing my mom taught me is that shoes make the outfit so I guess I’m just listening to her. You’re welcome mom. We headed back to the first market that we went to the first Saturday to check it out one last time (that’s where I found the shoes). Mao taught us how to make Thai tea (a staple of my time here) and then took us to the grocery store to get some to bring back to the states. I got some tea and classic Ritz crackers for the plane (they’re gone already). We found a little shop that sold ice cream crepes in the shopping center where the market was so we swarmed. It was delightful. We headed back to the college to get ready for the farewell party that was being held at a resort down the road. We were informed that the theme was “colorful.” I popped on a black and green dress so you know I was really feeling the vibe. There was lots of food including a spicy dish that I cant remember the name of. I scooped it into my bowl and also scooped at least 4 ladles of what I thought was chicken broth. It turned out to be lime juice. Bummer. Khim kept telling me to go to culinary school and thought that I wanted to kill her. I made everyone try it because it was so disgusting. It got a lot of laughs. I guess I didn’t really get used to the food that much. Oh well, I’ll try some more in the comfort of my home free from judgment 😉. The night was so fun, but pretty emotional. There were some slideshows showing our time together and the buddies put on a show for us. The Messiah students sang Lean on Me and shared some memories with everyone. All of the students were asked to share their feelings about the program and time together and I was surprised by this since Thailand isn’t super touchy feely. Looking back on it, I think they really just wanted us to share memories, which we did do. We ended the night with karaoke and dancing. It was a great ending to the 3 weeks here and tomorrow we have to say goodbye.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0419s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb