Hospital day 3 + New Years Celebration


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
January 11th 2018
Published: January 11th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Today was another beautiful day. The sky was overcast and there was a nice breeze, which made it cool outside. I’m thinking it might rain tonight because the wind has picked up. This morning I was in the labor and delivery unit again. I observed two births, one male and one female. That makes 6 births this week, 5 of which were girls! These two births weren’t much different from the other births the past few days. Our preceptor wasn’t there again today, so we followed the instructions of the CMU and BCNC instructors. I asked a few people if the hydrocephalus baby was born already, and nobody knew. The mother was no longer in her bed, so i assume she had delivered. Around 10am everyone met up and viewed the hemodialysis unit. Th unit and procedures were very similar to ones in the States. One thing that is interesting is that hemodialysis only costs the government $60 per person, while in the states it costs a lot more! The filters used in hemodialysis machines take a lot longer to work in Thailand than in the states. At lunch I bought a frozen hot cocoa, which was so good! Even better than the Oreo frappe from yesterday.





This afternoon we returned to BCNC and had a huge campus-wide New Years celebration. We taught everyone how to do the cha cha slide, played musical chairs (I almost one), tie dyed some fabric, and were introduced to the other Thai nursing students. At 3pm we all went back to our rooms to change and get ready for the evening festivities. I wore my new elephant pants, which are so comfortable. The evening festivities included a fashion show, dance performances, gift exchanges, and delicious food. My favorite foods were chicken wonton looking things, and a crepe-like thing. The crepe thing was fried dough with sweetened condensed milk and sugar on it. It puts American funnel cakes, donuts, and crepes all to shame! It was so much fun spending the afternoon/evening with my buddies. During the one dance performance I laughed so hard i started crying! I feel like I’ve been going going going all day, so now I’m pretty tired. Good Night world

Advertisement



Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0567s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb