4!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
January 9th 2018
Published: January 9th 2018
Edit Blog Post

January 8th

Back to work (kind of). This morning, we participated in the nursing students' morning ceremony. It is focused around respecting the teachers, the flag, and Buddha. Christianity is growing in Thailand so there is a moment of silence for Christians who would like to pray which I thought was interesting and thoughtful. We got a full tour of the college and saw the different simulation rooms. They are very similar to the ones at Messiah. After the college tour, we toured the hospital that we will be working in called Nakornping Hospital. We saw about 7 different units, including men's medical, women's medical and surgical, trauma, emergency, pediatrics, and labor and delivery. The hospital is made up of many different buildings that you have to walk outside to go into different units. It was really fascinating. Tomorrow I will be working in the women's surgical unit, so I will keep you guys updated on what I see and do! The nursing staff was so welcoming! I'm sure the patients were wondering what a bunch of Americans in pants were doing there (the nurses there wear skirts and look perfect), but no one said anything that I know of (my Thai is not that good). Today was kind of a slower day, which I definitely appreciated, but I am really excited to start working tomorrow!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.197s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0692s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb