Never fly with a broken rib


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
January 6th 2018
Published: January 6th 2018
Edit Blog Post

January 4th-5th

Today was the longest day of my life. I was pretty nervous to fly for 15 hours (and then a quick 6), seeing as the longest flight I had ever been on was only 4 hours long. I have also never been out of the country so this was a big day for me. The flight itself was not bad at all, however I do have a broken rib (thanks Jake and mom), which added some fun times. I made sure to get up and walk and stretch at least 3 times (but I’m still swollen). We landed in South Korea Friday night and that was quite an experience. The airport was giant and futuristic looking with glass windows everywhere. Everyone was on a mission. We quickly ate dinner and Em and I chose a delicious traditional Korean meal of taco bell. HUGE mistake. The second flight was rough to say the least. Finally, around 10:45pm, we landed in Chiang Mai. The flying was finally over. Once we got our bags and went through customs, your Thai buddies were waiting for us with Jasmine leis. We met each other and embraced, took pictures and laughed. Finally, we headed to BCNC. On the way, every single person introduced themselves in their Thai name and English. This was challenging because of all the different tones. It will take lots of practice, but we'll get there. Once in the apartment, there were gifts waiting for us on the bed. The days were long and tiring but I am overwhelmed by the generosity and hospitality of this beautiful city and it is only day one.

Advertisement



6th January 2018

Yay!!!
So glad you made it safely girl! That’s an insanely long flight and I bet I’d go crazy. Have a blast and soak it all in :) Love you!

Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0199s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb