Life on stilts


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Eastern Thailand » Koh Chang
August 7th 2011
Published: August 7th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Good day to you all!

I am writing as a sleepy wreck, from last night's typhoon adventures. As you may recall.... or not (can't remember if I mentioned this is my previous entry), we were booked to stay in a guesthouse on stilts above the water, last night. If you can google Bang Bao, it is a fishing village, much of which is built off of a pier, above the water. Our guesthouse was nearer the end of the pier,t han the beginning. Very quaint - like being aboard an old-fashioned boat. All wood and seashell decorations, with a door that led directly out onto the water (for no particular reason).

So... yesterday, was a delightful introduction to Thailand's monsoon. All rain, and overcast skies. We were on a money-saving lark, having discovered really how weak the US dollar has become, and realizing that we don't yet have work set up (I have since emailed a series of organizations in India, that accept volunteers, in return for accommodation and food). Cue a day of living off of random snack food - for example, the waffles being cooked at the entrance of a pristine public toilet - it's Asia, don't judge me.

We used yesterday to read our Nooks (I'm currently getting into Three Men and a Boat - a great read, I must concur), nap, and meander about the small village. We have discovered there isn't an awful lot to do here... but it is somewhat preferable to the uber-cool (I can't believe I just used the word "uber") hang-outs of Lonely Beach, and White Sands. So... night time came. I was pretty tired, and the sea air lulled me to sleep in no time. Some hours later, I woke up to a big flash of lightening, followed by rumbling thunder. It sounded pretty close. My initial thought was "ahhh! A thunderstorm! How exciting! I love thunderstorms!" before happily dozing off again. The next crash was a lot louder, and it was then, that I remembered we were staying in a guesthouse, built not that far above the water.

Crap.

I got up, along with Aleko, and looked out the window. We could see boats, swaying in the bay, and wind had picked up enormously. It's hard in such circumstances to really assess what you should be doing. We were both sure that all would be OK, but took the extra precaution of packing up our belongings, just in case things got hairy. The storm was mesmerizing, and it wasn't very long before it was directly above us. It had been a long time since I'd experienced somethings so awe-inspiring... and to be right above the water... I just need to drum that home. Aleko was watching out for the water to swell... which it did, but only by a foot - we would have had to evacuate had it been perhaps 3 or 4 feet. Fortunately it didn't come to that. We did exit our room, and look for signs that anyone else was leaving. However, it seemed like we were the only pampered, paranoid, Americans at the place.

The storm lasted a long time, and so today we are both sleepy, but happy to be moving inland to another guesthouse - a cheaper one, but one with a pool. We will probably stay there a few days, before heading back to the mainland, and up to Bangkok.

Thailand is very beautiful, but the people seem somewhat jaded from all the westerners, and there is no novelty to being white. It reminds me a bit of Morocco, where you felt somewhat like you were being endured, with gritted teeth, rather than welcomed. I don't blame them, especially as we all expect them to speak English to us - at least in India, that is their language (or one of). The initial plan was to explore the North - Chiang Mai, etc., but there is also a consideration of changing our flight to India, to leave sooner, as it will be cheaper, and well... I don't think much compares to India, after having been there, even with the breathtaking landscapes. We shall give ourselves more time, however.

Anyway, that is all for now. No real crazy adventures to report, I'm afraid. Just mooching, exploring the village. We are going to get breakfast (I'm hoping the toilet waffle stand is open), and then check in to our new accommodation. Hope all is well with everyone!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.031s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb