All thanks to the monkeys


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Lopburi
October 26th 2005
Published: November 26th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Lapburi was unexpectedly empty. I only found a few things to fill my mind and heart. Firstly there was this real cool rasta looking kinda bohemain guy with a big smile riding a bicycle tuk-tuk. He took me slowly but safely to my shabby hotel. Handing him a 50 bhat note he didn’t even have a 10 bhat coin change to hand me since i bargained the trip down to 40, anyway i got him to pose with me on a photo, good enough…😊 The main reason for going there must otherwise be alll the crazy monkeys. What once was one big bunch of them has now separated into two competing gangs. One roaming the streets, one the old teplme ruin sites. I who had never seen chimanpanse or whatever they’re called monkeys before was very fascinated by their weird funny behaviour. Non stop attraction. Young and old, worn and newly sprouted. Eating anything seemingly ape-edible, that is grass, whatever shit people feel like throwing at them, dried chewing gum stuck to the street and my hello kitty napkin! Three of them, one after anopther sneaked up behind me and climbed up my back, i shook them of with a swing. A little sceared, both me and him showing our dirty teeth to each other. The first one was most surprising and it grabbed my napkin hanging out of my bag! There he sat with some monkey kids bouncing around him, juggling with my napkin trying to eat the seams and the washing instuction ettiquette. It was alot of fun watching as he put it ontop of his head or covering his face. Incredible playfullness and money madness. The street monkeys caused alot of trouble too, but buddhist opinion keep them safe. They want the monkeys respected as the living beings thay are, however crazy they go in this human caos. Third thing, food is no fun here by the way, i found some english teachers and had a nice chat with them at the only bar in Lapburi. Bonus i got the next morning, a young guy working at the hotel was extremely nice and helpful and took me to the busstation in his car. Just as we arrived, my bus to Kanchanaburi was leaving, but he honked the horn and i rushed on the bus neither saying good bye or paying him for the ride. Real nice kid. thought i might send him a postcard as thanks

Advertisement



Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0642s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb