Another trip comes to an end.. in the best possible way!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Ko Samet
July 31st 2006
Published: July 31st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Ao Phai, Ko SametAo Phai, Ko SametAo Phai, Ko Samet

Looking out from the beach restaurant where I spent WAY too much time and money
Alas, looks like it's time for me to drag my wandering ass back to reality.

It's mindboggling how quickly 3 months of your life can fly by in a blur right before your face, and at the end of it all you find yourself sitting there thinking, "What the hell have I really done or accomplished in all that time?"

It's not much of an answer, really, but I've met so many amazing people, seen far too many cool places to list and experienced cultures I never fathomed I would, so I'm fairly satisfied with the time I spent in SE Asia this summer. Almost expectedly, it wasn't nearly long enough, but I'm more than ready to head home and catch up with all the people I ditched (again) for months at a time.

The last leg of my trip found me wandering down to Ko Samet, a little island about 5 hours from Bangkok, to catch some last minute sun and swims in the ocean before heading home. On the boat from Ban Phe peir, I stumbled across the conversation of 3 random travellers and together we walked the streets (or more like muddy paths) of Ko
CompanyCompanyCompany

One of the two resident weiner dogs that would patrol the restaurant and scare off the other scruffy-ass dogs.
Samet looking for somewhere to stay. After settling at a place called 'Jep's Inn', the following 4 days turned into one of the best times I've ever had in Thailand.

Days were spent sitting at the little bamboo tables on the sand, eating great food, talking shit and staring out at the bright blue ocean. Follow that up with numerous swims in the bath-temperature water, more food (and beers!) and long, long nights of great parties and way too many whiskey buckets, and you've got an atmosphere that's hard to top. Though, I have to admit that without the company of Donna (the Brit), Seth (the American) and David (aka: Suede Buchanon, the Swede ), it wouldn't have been nearly as much fun as it was. Thanks guys.

So after pulling more than a few all-night beach parties and late night swims in the phosphoresence, we all reluctantly went our separate ways and for the n'th time (I've lost count), I'm back in Bangkok wandering the streets and spending too much money. I think that I'll be able to piss away a few days by shopping and getting a tailored suit made, but when it comes time for me to fly out of this wonderful country, I'll be more than ready. SE Asia never disappoints, but it just can't top home sweet home, and that's where I'm itching to get.

There's really not much more to say other than, for God's sake, some of you guys need to come travelling with me next time. I KNOW you'd love it, so get outta yer shells and punch the unknown in the face with me next year.

Only a few of the pictures I took on Ko Samet will make any sense to those who weren't there, and most of them are completely random at best, as there's a good chance I had consumed numerous mickeys of whiskey before taking them. Haha, it was fun.

I fly outta Bangkok on August 4th, so if you want me to bring you something back, you've got a few days left to drop me and email with a few ideas. I'm really shit at buying gifts, so if you don't give me some ideas, don't expect much (or anything) when I get back!

Cheers, cya bums in a few days!

Mark

(ps: Suede, are you still alive somewhere in Cambodia? And Seth, get up to Bangkok and we can party for a few nights before I take off. You know it'll be a good time! ...bucket?)




Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

The 3 RandomsThe 3 Randoms
The 3 Randoms

From left to right: David (Swedish), Seth (American), Donna (Brittish). Best group of random party kids I've met in a long, long time.
Sunset on Ao PhaiSunset on Ao Phai
Sunset on Ao Phai

To get this sight, you need to drink all night until 5am, go for a night swim and get robbed in the process, and then continue drinking until 10am. We did this often...
...yeah...yeah
...yeah

I think this sums up fairly accurately each night's festivities. Booooochanon!


3rd August 2006

Nice pictures man!
Like I said, I'm feeling nostalgic already about the time on Ko Samet. Your pictures and text gave me a few laughs. Have a safe trip home. I guess it will be a lot of fun to land again in Alberta and catch up with everything there. Talk to you later! Take care!

Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0543s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb