Destination SEA


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Ko Samet
November 24th 2012
Published: November 6th 2013
Edit Blog Post

I waited two years to get my mom and sister out to South East Asia. Finally in August 2011 my sister, who was in-between jobs at the time, came for an entire month. She loved HK! I think a big part of that was because partying until 7am is socially acceptable here. Mom followed and stayed for a couple nights. She still thinks I'm crazy for living out here, but I believe that's my fault for trying to show her an authentic Chinese experience by dragging her around Kowloon, the most densly populated are in the world. oops. From Hong Kong we flew to Bangkok and spent a couple nights there with my mom's Intercontinental Hotel discount! I love Bangkok. There's something about the energy of that city that makes me happy. I was a little nervous about what my LA mother and sister would think, but they loved it as well! From there we went to Koh Samet, a local Bangkokian's favourite beach destination, mainly for its proximity to Bangkok. After a somewhat exhausting bus, boat and tricycle we ended up on a long stretch of white sand surrounded by big modern resorts and restaurants. After walking along the beach for a bit we found just what one looks for when in Thailand... beach-front beach huts. For $20USD a night we snagged a cozy air-conditioned hut that opened to the beach. We spent the next 4 days here doing nothing but beach bum, drink and eat. Fresh seafood and Singah brewskies helped us pass the time efficiently and joyfully. Mom truly enjoyed herself, but as she's not used to sitting around and doing nothing, we left eagerly to our next SEA destination...Vietnam!

Koh Samet is a great spot for people who don't want to travel too far from Bangkok, but if you have the time I would say skip it and head out a little further away from the crowds. Although you do get all you need from a Thai holiday (beautiful beach, fresh seafood, comfortable beach huts), you will be paying more and you will be sharing your experience with loads of tourists!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Dins on the beachDins on the beach
Dins on the beach

Right before mom's bum got attacked by a crab!


Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0408s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb