Life is a beach


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Ko Samet
December 18th 2006
Published: December 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

The majority of the time we have spent here has been on the beach working on my tan, which by the way is coming on nicely. The sand here is white and the sea is lovely, green and some days warm too.

On Tuesday we hired some scooters and managed to check out the whole of the island, which is only about 6km. Chilling out on several beaches in between trying to negotiate the awful roads here, which are mainly dirt tracks and are very bumpy. I thought it was great fun but Erica wasn't too impressed, especially as she had a little fall (she was unhurt just shook up). The highlight of the day however was visiting the south of the island to sea my first sunset, it was amazing.

On Thursday we went out on a speed boat to several of the smaller Islands around Koh Samet. I caught a fish which was cooked for our lunch later, not sure what it was but it was rather tasty. We also went snorkeling too but there wasn't much to see. The last stop was at a floating fish farm, which was a little nerve racking as the paths were very narrow and were rocking with the tide. We got to see a puffer fish inflate which was cool, but to make it angry the guy who works there had to put his fingers in it's eyes (not very nice). I was able to stroke a turtle on it's head which was great and Erica got to hold a baby one.

Sunday, our last day was another lazy one on the beach, I had a Thai massage which was great and a foot scrub, it was so relaxing. We went out for a meal with the boys we had met on the ferry coming here, but Erica and I went home early and left them entertaining the ladies.

Unfortunately I have not been able to dive yet as I have a bit of a cold, but I am sure I will get some in soon.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.132s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 22; qc: 102; dbt: 0.0636s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb