Blue skies, humid...am in Thailand!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Ko Samet
November 20th 2006
Published: November 25th 2006
Edit Blog Post

So I arrived into Bangkok at 0100 with no idea where I was staying - no text had arrived from Lucy with her address so I was slighly nervous. What would we do without mobile phones?!? A quick call to a very sleepy Lucy solved that. I couldnt believe how hot it was and it was the middle of the night!! Lucy was awake by the time I arrived and bless her, wanted to chat even though she had to be up for work in 3 hours! It was so good to see her. Her flat is amazing and thank goodness had air con.

Ventured out alone in the morning...funny thing is I could not remember a thing of arriving during the night so had to find my way out. Found the pool easily and then saw the light - well the lobby lifts anyhow. Actually felt a little nervous going out onto the streets but then faced with a familar sight - Starbucks gets everywhere - just had to pop in for my breakfast. Luckily Lucy had left me with a little map explaining where I was so I made it to the shopping centre, although was sweating like
The birthday girl!!The birthday girl!!The birthday girl!!

Lucy, me and Mia
mad when got there...and perhaps a walk along the road was not a good idea!! Later I found a shortcut back and was thankful to be back in the airconditioning of Lucys flat.

As it was Lucy's birthday and in true Lucy style a weekend away had been organised. So I got a cab to her school - it is huge!, where a mini bus and nine others awaited for our departure. As I expected everyone was really nice and a real mixed bunch who chatted all the way up on our 3 hour journey north of Bangkok. Darkness had fallen by the time we arrived at the port. Luckily all had been organised and we jumped into a speed boat to take us across to our island for the weekend - Koh Samed - that was fun and I couldnt stop smiling at Lucy - all seemed a bit sureal that I was with her yet I had only got into Bangkok that morning. Blimey I am packing this all in!

It was party, party, party that night, Thai food, buckets (yes buckets - I remember that from my last visit to Thailand) of cocktails, lighting lights to float into the sky, amusement at the lady boys, sadness at the number of old men/ugly men with young Thai girls and lots of dancing. Oh yes, and the evening had to end with a swim in the sea (well - one of the guys, Dave, pushed Lucy in - had to be done on her birthday).

ARHG!! Little hangover the next day but what a perfect start to wake up, open the door and see the sea. Breakfast on the beach followed by a swim out to the platform soon cured that as we relaxed on the beach. The boys had organised for a truck to pick us up and take us across the island to watch the sunset so with shandy in hand we sat and watched a lovely sunset - just lovely. Then quiet night had by all.

You cant beat a massage on the beach listening to the waves and being stretched far too much - felt like I had a good workout but was so relaxed. Am going to make sure I cram in as many as I can before I leave. Big thanks to Lucy for another fantastic birthday weekend - I wonder where we will be next year.

Luckily Lucy has a pool at her apartments so I spent the following day doing some lengths - bit worried about my fitness and with the ski season nearing by the day I had better do something about it. Followed by a massage - this time a little too hard for me that actually it hurt. We made our way through the streets of Bangkok (Lucy waving and talking to the police - she is hilarious) as we went to the Oriental Hotel on the river for a cocktail....bliss from the busy streets and just the way to finish the day, watching the sun go down and getting the boat along the river.

So, goodbye to Lucy and Bangkok (for a week...)...the alarm woke me at 4.30 the next morning for my flight to Cambodia.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

The girls on the beach...The girls on the beach...
The girls on the beach...

....am loving it!


25th November 2006

looks fantastic what a life!! and your hair is looking great long and curly yippee!( sorry for the girly comment!) love fiona

Tot: 0.423s; Tpl: 0.03s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0421s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb